West Virginia beauty licenses

West Virginia cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in West Virginia you need a Cosmetologist license from the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 1,800 hours of school and $110 in state fees. Exams: A board examination on the subjects the board sets. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.The state's own words

Cosmetologist

West Virginia cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
1,800 hours1,800 clock hours; the board may also offer an apprenticeship route. About 12 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
A board examination on the subjects the board sets
Who can apply
At least 18 years old, high school diploma or GED (or ability-to-benefit test), graduate of a licensed school
State fees, first license
$110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

West Virginia's 1,800 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the most of any state.

Barber

West Virginia barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
1,200 hours1,200 clock hours without chemical services, or 1,500 with chemical services; a barber apprenticeship program is also a route. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
A board examination on the subjects the board sets
Who can apply
At least 18 years old, high school diploma or GED (or ability-to-benefit test), graduate of a licensed school
State fees, first license
$110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

West Virginia's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

West Virginia nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
400 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
A board examination on the subjects the board sets
Who can apply
At least 18 years old, high school diploma or GED (or ability-to-benefit test), graduate of a licensed school
State fees, first license
$110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

West Virginia's 400 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

West Virginia esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
A board examination on the subjects the board sets
Who can apply
At least 18 years old, high school diploma or GED (or ability-to-benefit test), graduate of a licensed school
State fees, first license
$110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

West Virginia's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license West Virginia requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what West Virginia requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in West Virginia.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

A professional license is issued to an applicant of good moral character who holds a valid license from another state granted after that state's required education, with no charges pending, at least 18 years old, and a physician's certificate of health.

Good to know in West Virginia

  • Students need a student registration from the board before starting studies at a licensed school.
  • The board may issue a work permit to an applicant who meets listed conditions, including waiting to take the examination.
  • An applicant holding an expired license from another state is awarded a provisional license to practice in West Virginia.

Sources

What West Virginia's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“means a person licensed under the provisions of this article who engages in the practice of cosmetology”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“means a person licensed under the provisions of this article who engages in the practice of cosmetology and who has completed 1,800 clock hours of training.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Has passed an examination that tests the applicant’s knowledge of subjects specified by the board”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years of age;”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has a high school diploma, a GED, or has passed the”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has graduated from a licensed school which has been approved by the West Virginia Council”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Application & Examination fee $75.00”
wvpebd.gov
“Issuance or License fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Annual license renewal fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
“A professional licensee and certificate holder shall annually on or before January 1, renew his or her professional license or certificate”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Barber: license
“has completed a 1,200 clock-hour barber training program without chemical services, or a 1,500 clock-hour barber training program with chemical services”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Barber: training hours
“has completed a 1,200 clock-hour barber training program without chemical services, or a 1,500 clock-hour barber training program with chemical services, or has successfully completed the barber apprenticeship program.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Barber: exams
“Has passed an examination that tests the applicant’s knowledge of subjects specified by the board”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years of age;”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has a high school diploma, a GED, or has passed the”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has graduated from a licensed school which has been approved by the West Virginia Council”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Barber: fees
“Application & Examination fee $75.00”
wvpebd.gov
“Issuance or License fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
Barber: renewal
“Annual license renewal fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
“A professional licensee and certificate holder shall annually on or before January 1, renew his or her professional license or certificate”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Nail technician: license
““Nail technician” or “manicurist” means a person licensed under the provisions of this article”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“means a person licensed under the provisions of this article who engages in the practice of nail care and has completed 400 clock hours of training.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Has passed an examination that tests the applicant’s knowledge of subjects specified by the board”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years of age;”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has a high school diploma, a GED, or has passed the”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has graduated from a licensed school which has been approved by the West Virginia Council”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Application & Examination fee $75.00”
wvpebd.gov
“Issuance or License fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Annual license renewal fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
“A professional licensee and certificate holder shall annually on or before January 1, renew his or her professional license or certificate”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Esthetician: license
““Aesthetician” or “esthetician” means a person licensed under the provisions of this article”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“means a person licensed under the provisions of this article who engages in the practice of aesthetics and has completed 600 clock hours of training.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Has passed an examination that tests the applicant’s knowledge of subjects specified by the board”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years of age;”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has a high school diploma, a GED, or has passed the”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has graduated from a licensed school which has been approved by the West Virginia Council”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Application & Examination fee $75.00”
wvpebd.gov
“Issuance or License fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Annual license renewal fee $35.00”
wvpebd.gov
“A professional licensee and certificate holder shall annually on or before January 1, renew his or her professional license or certificate”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Licensed in another state
“The board shall issue a professional license to practice to an applicant of good moral character who holds a valid license or other authorization to practice in that particular field from another state”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Holds a valid license or other authorization to practice in another state which was granted after completion of educational requirements required in another state”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Is at least 18 years of age;”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Has presented a certificate of health issued by a licensed physician; and”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Reciprocity, application without exam fee $100.00”
wvpebd.gov
Also good to know
“Prior to commencing studies in a licensed school, a student shall acquire a student registration issued by the board.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“The board may issue a work permit to practice to an applicant who meets the following conditions:”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“The board shall award an applicant holding an expired license from another state a provisional license to practice in this state”
code.wvlegislature.gov

Questions

West Virginia beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in West Virginia?
1,800 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 12 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). West Virginia's 1,800 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the most of any state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in West Virginia?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35), and it renews every year, $35. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in West Virginia?
The Cosmetologist license renews every year for $35. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in West Virginia?
West Virginia calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 400 hours of training, A board examination on the subjects the board sets, $110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35) in state fees. It renews every year, $35.
How do you get an esthetician license in West Virginia?
West Virginia calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 600 hours of training, A board examination on the subjects the board sets, $110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35) in state fees. It renews every year, $35.
How do you get a barber license in West Virginia?
West Virginia calls it a Barber license, issued by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 1,200 hours of training, A board examination on the subjects the board sets, $110 (application and examination fee $75 plus initial license (issuance) fee $35) in state fees. It renews every year, $35.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to West Virginia?
A professional license is issued to an applicant of good moral character who holds a valid license from another state granted after that state's required education, with no charges pending, at least 18 years old, and a physician's certificate of health. The fee is $100. Apply with the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in West Virginia?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what West Virginia requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in West Virginia: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

West Virginia Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI