Alabama beauty licenses

Alabama cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Alabama you need a Cosmetologist license from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $255 in state fees. Exams: written exam and practical exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Alabama cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
1,500 hours1,500 clock hours in school, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice; school and apprentice hours may not be combined. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
16 years old, 10th grade or equivalent, legally permitted to work in the United States
State fees, first license
$255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Alabama's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Alabama barber license

Alabama calls it the Class 2 Barber license.

License
Class 2 Barber
Issued by
The Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
1,000 hours1,000 clock hours in school, or 2,000 hours as an apprentice; school and apprentice hours may not be combined. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
2,000 hours
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
16 years old, 10th grade or equivalent, legally permitted to work in the United States
State fees, first license
$255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Alabama's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Alabama nail technician license

Alabama calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
750 hours750 clock hours in school, or 1,200 hours as an apprentice over two years; school and apprentice hours may not be combined. About 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
16 years old, 10th grade or equivalent, legally permitted to work in the United States
State fees, first license
$255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Alabama's 750 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state, the most of any state.

Esthetician

Alabama esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
1,000 hours1,000 clock hours in school, or 2,000 hours as an apprentice over three years; school and apprentice hours may not be combined. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
2,000 hours
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
16 years old, 10th grade or equivalent, legally permitted to work in the United States
State fees, first license
$255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Alabama's 1,000 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state, tied for the most of any state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Alabama requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Alabama requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Alabama.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: an active license in good standing from another state that required a board-approved exam, or five years' practice as a licensee there, plus the out-of-state reciprocity fee.

Good to know in Alabama

  • School hours and apprentice hours may not be combined.
  • Candidates have 2 years from completing their program to pass both the written and practical exams.
  • Renewals postmarked after the last day of the birth month owe a $54 late fee.

Sources

What Alabama's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Section 34-7B-18 Qualifications of Applicants for Examination or Licensure - Cosmetologist.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Has successfully completed at least 1,500 clock hours in a licensed or registered school of cosmetology”
aboc.alabama.gov
“School hours and apprentice hours MAY NOT BE COMBINED.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“b. In lieu of the requirements in paragraph a., has completed 3,000 hours under the immediate supervision of a cosmetologist continuously licensed”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Test Candidates will have 2 years to complete both the Written and Practical exams from the date they completed their program.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“To obtain a license in any discipline from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, you must be at least 16 years old, have completed at least 10 grades in secondary school (or the equivalent), and be legally permitted to work in the United States.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Written Examination or Reexamination: $75”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Practical Examination or Reexamination: $130”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Once you have an original license, you then renew every two (2) years during your birth month.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Personal Renewal: $100”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: license
“(5) CLASS 2 BARBER. Any person, other than a student or apprentice, who performs barbering on the general public for compensation, and who shall”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: training hours
“Has successfully completed at least 1,000 clock hours in a licensed or registered school of barbering”
aboc.alabama.gov
“School hours and apprentice hours MAY NOT BE COMBINED.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Has successfully completed at least 1,000 clock hours in a licensed or registered school of barbering or 2,000 clock hours under the immediate”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: exams
“Test Candidates will have 2 years to complete both the Written and Practical exams from the date they completed their program.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: who can apply
“To obtain a license in any discipline from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, you must be at least 16 years old, have completed at least 10 grades in secondary school (or the equivalent), and be legally permitted to work in the United States.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: fees
“Written Examination or Reexamination: $75”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Practical Examination or Reexamination: $130”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
Barber: renewal
“Once you have an original license, you then renew every two (2) years during your birth month.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Personal Renewal: $100”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: license
“Section 34-7B-21 Qualifications of Applicants for Examination or Licensure - Manicurist.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Has successfully completed at least 750 clock hours of manicure instruction in a school licensed or registered under the provisions of this chapter”
aboc.alabama.gov
“School hours and apprentice hours MAY NOT BE COMBINED.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“b. In lieu of the requirements in paragraph a., has completed 1,200 hours under the immediate supervision of a manicurist continuously licensed”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Test Candidates will have 2 years to complete both the Written and Practical exams from the date they completed their program.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“To obtain a license in any discipline from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, you must be at least 16 years old, have completed at least 10 grades in secondary school (or the equivalent), and be legally permitted to work in the United States.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Written Examination or Reexamination: $75”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Practical Examination or Reexamination: $130”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Once you have an original license, you then renew every two (2) years during your birth month.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Personal Renewal: $100”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: license
“Section 34-7B-19 Qualifications of Applicants for Examination or Licensure - Esthetician.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Has successfully completed at least 1,000 clock hours of skin care instruction in a licensed or registered school of esthetics”
aboc.alabama.gov
“School hours and apprentice hours MAY NOT BE COMBINED.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“or on courses reported in credit hours or 2,000 hours under the immediate supervision of an esthetician continuously licensed under the provisions of”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Test Candidates will have 2 years to complete both the Written and Practical exams from the date they completed their program.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“To obtain a license in any discipline from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, you must be at least 16 years old, have completed at least 10 grades in secondary school (or the equivalent), and be legally permitted to work in the United States.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Written Examination or Reexamination: $75”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Practical Examination or Reexamination: $130”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Once you have an original license, you then renew every two (2) years during your birth month.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Personal Renewal: $100”
aboc.alabama.gov
Licensed in another state
“b. Be currently licensed in good standing in another state or jurisdiction, with documentation of having passed a board-approved examination, and”
aboc.alabama.gov
“c. Be currently licensed in good standing in another state or jurisdiction, with documentation of having practiced as a licensee for at least five years”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Reciprocity (Out of State): $100”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“School hours and apprentice hours MAY NOT BE COMBINED.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“Test Candidates will have 2 years to complete both the Written and Practical exams from the date they completed their program.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“Renewals postmarked after the last day of your birth month will be assessed a late fee of $54.”
aboc.alabama.gov

Questions

Alabama beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Alabama?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Alabama's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Alabama?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50), and it renews every 2 years, $100. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Alabama?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $100. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Alabama?
Alabama calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 750 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get an esthetician license in Alabama?
Alabama calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,000 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get a barber license in Alabama?
Alabama calls it a Class 2 Barber license, issued by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,000 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $255 (written examination $75 plus practical examination $130 plus original license $50) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Alabama?
By endorsement: an active license in good standing from another state that required a board-approved exam, or five years' practice as a licensee there, plus the out-of-state reciprocity fee. The fee is $100. Apply with the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Alabama?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Alabama requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Alabama: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Alabama Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI