Oregon beauty licenses
Oregon cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in Oregon you need a Hair Design license from the Oregon Health Licensing Office. It takes 1,110 hours of school and $155 in state fees. Exams: practical exam passed at the school, written field exam, and Oregon Laws and Rules written exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,110
- Barber hours
- 746
Licensed by the Oregon Health Licensing Office.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
Oregon cosmetology license
Oregon calls it the Hair Design license.
- License
- Hair Design
- Issued by
- The Oregon Health Licensing Office
- Training
- 1,110 hoursOregon licenses each field of practice separately; Hair Design is the field for cutting, coloring and styling hair. Training is counted in hours plus a set number of practical operations. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Practical exam passed at the school, written field exam, and Oregon Laws and Rules written exam
- Who can apply
- Graduation from a Board-approved Oregon school
- State fees, first license
- $155 (application (per field of practice) $30 plus written field-of-practice exam (per field) $45 plus oregon Laws and Rules exam $45 plus original certificate (valid two years, per field) $35)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $65
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Oregon's 1,110 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
Oregon barber license
- License
- Barber
- Issued by
- The Oregon Health Licensing Office
- Training
- 746 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Practical exam passed at the school, written field exam, and Oregon Laws and Rules written exam
- Who can apply
- Graduation from a Board-approved Oregon school
- State fees, first license
- $155 (application (per field of practice) $30 plus written field-of-practice exam (per field) $45 plus oregon Laws and Rules exam $45 plus original certificate (valid two years, per field) $35)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $65
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Oregon's 746 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
Oregon nail technician license
Oregon calls it the Nail Technologist license.
- License
- Nail Technologist
- Issued by
- The Oregon Health Licensing Office
- Training
- 241 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Practical exam passed at the school, written field exam, and Oregon Laws and Rules written exam
- Who can apply
- Graduation from a Board-approved Oregon school
- State fees, first license
- $155 (application (per field of practice) $30 plus written field-of-practice exam (per field) $45 plus oregon Laws and Rules exam $45 plus original certificate (valid two years, per field) $35)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $65
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Oregon's 241 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
Oregon esthetician license
- License
- Esthetician
- Issued by
- The Oregon Health Licensing Office
- Training
- 444 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Practical exam passed at the school, written field exam, and Oregon Laws and Rules written exam
- Who can apply
- Graduation from a Board-approved Oregon school
- State fees, first license
- $155 (application (per field of practice) $30 plus written field-of-practice exam (per field) $45 plus oregon Laws and Rules exam $45 plus original certificate (valid two years, per field) $35)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $65
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Oregon's 444 hours are fewer than the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Oregon requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Oregon requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Oregon.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
By reciprocity: an active authorization from another state or country with no discipline, so the Health Licensing Office may waive all or part of the school requirements and let the applicant take the written exams.
Good to know in Oregon
- Every applicant must also pass the Oregon Laws and Rules written exam, within two years of applying.
- Practical exam scores are valid for five years from the date they were passed.
- Written exams are taken at the Health Licensing Office during weekday testing hours.
Sources
What Oregon's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“Board of Cosmetology - Hair Design - Certification Information”
oregon.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“1,110 hours, 455 practical operations”
oregon.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“Practical examination scores are valid for five years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed.”
oregon.gov “Written examinations are taken at the Health Licensing Office.”
oregon.gov “In addition, all applicants must pass a Board-approved Oregon Laws and Rules written examination within two years of the date of application.”
oregon.gov - Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Oregon applicants applying for a hair design certification must graduate from a Board-approved Oregon school.”
oregon.gov - Cosmetologist: fees
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $30 per field of practice.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(C) Hair design: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Oregon laws & rules: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Practitioner certificate: $35 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Cosmetologist: renewal
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov “(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Barber: license
“Board of Cosmetology - Barber - Certification Information”
oregon.gov - Barber: training hours
“746 hours, 465 practical operations”
oregon.gov - Barber: exams
“Practical examination scores are valid for five years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed.”
oregon.gov “Written examinations are taken at the Health Licensing Office.”
oregon.gov “In addition, all applicants must pass a Board-approved Oregon Laws and Rules written examination within two years of the date of application.”
oregon.gov - Barber: who can apply
“Oregon applicants applying for a barbering certification must graduate from a Board-approved Oregon school.”
oregon.gov - Barber: fees
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $30 per field of practice.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(B) Barbering: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Oregon laws & rules: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Practitioner certificate: $35 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Barber: renewal
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov “(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Nail technician: license
“Board of Cosmetology - Nail Technologist - Certification Information”
oregon.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“241 hours, 70 practical operations”
oregon.gov - Nail technician: exams
“Practical examination scores are valid for five years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed.”
oregon.gov “Written examinations are taken at the Health Licensing Office.”
oregon.gov “In addition, all applicants must pass a Board-approved Oregon Laws and Rules written examination within two years of the date of application.”
oregon.gov - Nail technician: who can apply
“Oregon applicants applying for a nail technologist certification must graduate from a Board-approved Oregon school.”
oregon.gov - Nail technician: fees
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $30 per field of practice.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(E) Nail technology: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Oregon laws & rules: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Practitioner certificate: $35 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Nail technician: renewal
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov “(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Esthetician: license
“Board of Cosmetology - Esthetician - Certification Information”
oregon.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“444 hours, 220 practical operations”
oregon.gov - Esthetician: exams
“Practical examination scores are valid for five years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed.”
oregon.gov “Written examinations are taken at the Health Licensing Office.”
oregon.gov “In addition, all applicants must pass a Board-approved Oregon Laws and Rules written examination within two years of the date of application.”
oregon.gov - Esthetician: who can apply
“Oregon applicants applying for an esthetician certification must graduate from a Board-approved Oregon school.”
oregon.gov - Esthetician: fees
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $30 per field of practice.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(D) Esthetics: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Oregon laws & rules: $45.”
secure.sos.state.or.us “(A) Practitioner certificate: $35 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Esthetician: renewal
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov “(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Licensed in another state
“may have all or part of the requirements described in Pathway One (above) waived by the Health Licensing Office (HLO)”
oregon.gov “(B) Practitioner certificate by reciprocity: $100 per field of practice.”
secure.sos.state.or.us - Also good to know
“In addition, all applicants must pass a Board-approved Oregon Laws and Rules written examination within two years of the date of application.”
oregon.gov - Also good to know
“Practical examination scores are valid for five years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed.”
oregon.gov - Also good to know
“HLO office hours for testing are Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.”
oregon.gov
Questions
Oregon beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Oregon?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Oregon?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Oregon?
How do you get a nail technician license in Oregon?
How do you get an esthetician license in Oregon?
How do you get a barber license in Oregon?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Oregon?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Oregon?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What Oregon requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in Oregon, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Oregon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.