New Hampshire beauty licenses

New Hampshire cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in New Hampshire you need a Cosmetologist license from the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC). It takes 1,200 hours of school and $85 in state fees. Exams: written and practical examinations. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by OPLC.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

New Hampshire cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC)
Training
1,200 hours1,200 hours in a school, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice over at least 18 months About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written and practical examinations
Who can apply
High school or equivalent, and good professional character
State fees, first license
$85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30)
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

New Hampshire's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

New Hampshire barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC)
Training
800 hours800 hours in a school, or 1,600 hours as an apprentice over at least 12 months About 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,600 hours
Exams
Written and practical examinations
Who can apply
High school or equivalent, and good professional character
State fees, first license
$85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30)
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

New Hampshire's 800 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

New Hampshire nail technician license

New Hampshire calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC)
Training
300 hours300 hours in a school, or 600 hours in a shop apprenticeship About 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
600 hours
Exams
Written and practical examinations
Who can apply
High school or equivalent, and good professional character
State fees, first license
$85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30)
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

New Hampshire's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

New Hampshire esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC)
Training
600 hours600 hours in a school; a board-approved apprenticeship may be substituted (1,200 hours in a shop under the rules) About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Written and practical examinations
Who can apply
High school or equivalent, and good professional character
State fees, first license
$85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30)
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

New Hampshire's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license New Hampshire requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what New Hampshire requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in New Hampshire.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a similar license from another state, on the board's Individuals Licensed in Another State form; if hours are short, work experience of 3,000 hours (cosmetologist), 1,600 (barber), 1,200 (esthetician) or 600 (manicurist) may be provided instead.

Good to know in New Hampshire

  • A temporary permit lets an applicant eligible for the exam practice temporarily under a licensed practitioner while waiting for it (RSA 313-A:18).
  • Licensing exams are held at least every 6 months (RSA 313-A:15).
  • Apprentices must register with OPLC and hold an apprentice certificate before starting an apprenticeship or school (RSA 313-A:24).

Sources

What New Hampshire's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
““Cosmetologist” means “cosmetologist” as defined in RSA 313-A:1, V, namely, “any person practicing cosmetology”.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Cosmetologist: training hours
“A minimum of 1,200 hours of training in a school of cosmetology approved by the board”
gc.nh.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“A minimum of 3,000 hours distributed over a period of at least 18 months under a licensed cosmetologist”
gc.nh.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“When an applicant passes both the practical and written examinations”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“(b) Have completed high school or its equivalent;”
gc.nh.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“| Application Fee | $55.00 |”
oplc.nh.gov
“he or she shall pay the licensure fee in the amount of $30.00 to the board”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Licenses issued by the office shall be valid for 2 years from the date of issuance”
gc.nh.gov
Barber: license
““Barber” means “barber” as defined in RSA 313-A:1, I, namely, “any person practicing barbering”.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Barber: training hours
“A minimum of 800 hours of training in a school of barbering approved by the office of professional licensure and certification”
gc.nh.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“A minimum of 1,600 hours distributed over a period of at least 12 months under a licensed barber”
gc.nh.gov
Barber: exams
“When an applicant passes both the practical and written examinations”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Barber: who can apply
“(b) Have completed high school or its equivalent;”
gc.nh.gov
Barber: fees
“| Application Fee | $55.00 |”
oplc.nh.gov
“he or she shall pay the licensure fee in the amount of $30.00 to the board”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Barber: renewal
“Licenses issued by the office shall be valid for 2 years from the date of issuance”
gc.nh.gov
Nail technician: license
““Manicurist” means “manicurist” as defined in RSA 313-A:1, IX, namely, “any person practicing manicuring or pedicuring”.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Nail technician: training hours
“Have completed a course of at least 300 hours of professional training in manicuring”
gc.nh.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“For manicurists, RSA 313-A:12, I, or, pursuant to RSA 313-A:12, II, 600 hours in a shop apprenticeship program”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Nail technician: exams
“When an applicant passes both the practical and written examinations”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Nail technician: who can apply
“(b) Have completed high school or its equivalent;”
gc.nh.gov
Nail technician: fees
“| Application Fee | $55.00 |”
oplc.nh.gov
“he or she shall pay the licensure fee in the amount of $30.00 to the board”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Nail technician: renewal
“Licenses issued by the office shall be valid for 2 years from the date of issuance”
gc.nh.gov
Esthetician: license
““Esthetician” means “esthetician” as defined in RSA 313-A:1, VII, namely, “any person practicing esthetics”.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Esthetician: training hours
“have completed a course of at least 600 hours of training in a school approved by the office”
gc.nh.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“For estheticians, RSA 313-A:13 or, pursuant to RSA 313-A:13, 1200 hours in a shop apprenticeship program”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Esthetician: exams
“When an applicant passes both the practical and written examinations”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Esthetician: who can apply
“(b) Have completed high school or its equivalent;”
gc.nh.gov
Esthetician: fees
“| Application Fee | $55.00 |”
oplc.nh.gov
“he or she shall pay the licensure fee in the amount of $30.00 to the board”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Esthetician: renewal
“Licenses issued by the office shall be valid for 2 years from the date of issuance”
gc.nh.gov
Licensed in another state
“The board shall license any applicant who is similarly licensed in another state pursuant to RSA 313-A:14.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
“The minimum number of hours worked shall be 3,000 for master barbers and cosmetologists, 1,600 for a barber, 1200 for an esthetician, and 600 for a manicurist.”
gencourt.state.nh.us
Also good to know
“Any person eligible to take an examination for a license under this chapter may apply to the office of professional licensure and certification for a permit to professionally operate temporarily pending the holding of such examination.”
gc.nh.gov
Also good to know
“shall hold examinations in barbering, cosmetology, manicuring, and esthetics at least once every 6 months”
gc.nh.gov
Also good to know
“No person shall enter an apprenticeship or enroll in a school under this chapter unless such person has registered with the office of professional licensure and certification as an apprentice and been issued an apprentice certificate.”
gc.nh.gov

Questions

New Hampshire beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in New Hampshire?
1,200 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). New Hampshire's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in New Hampshire?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30), and it renews every 2 years. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in New Hampshire?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with OPLC before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC). It takes 300 hours of training, written and practical examinations, $85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30) in state fees. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get an esthetician license in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC). It takes 600 hours of training, written and practical examinations, $85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30) in state fees. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get a barber license in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire calls it a Barber license, issued by the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC). It takes 800 hours of training, written and practical examinations, $85 (application fee (Personal License) $55 plus licensure fee after passing both exams $30) in state fees. It renews every 2 years.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to New Hampshire?
By endorsement: a similar license from another state, on the board's Individuals Licensed in Another State form; if hours are short, work experience of 3,000 hours (cosmetologist), 1,600 (barber), 1,200 (esthetician) or 600 (manicurist) may be provided instead. Apply with OPLC.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in New Hampshire?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what New Hampshire requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in New Hampshire: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

New Hampshire Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI