New Mexico beauty licenses

New Mexico cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in New Mexico you need a Cosmetologist license from the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 1,600 hours of school and $100 in state fees. Exams: practical and written examinations conducted by the board. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

New Mexico cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
1,600 hoursAbout 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical and written examinations conducted by the board
Who can apply
17 years old; course of study completed at a licensed school within the preceding 12 months
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every year, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

New Mexico's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

New Mexico barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
1,200 hoursBarbers may instead complete a state-registered barber apprenticeship; the rules give no apprenticeship hours. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical and written examinations conducted by the board
Who can apply
17 years old; course of study completed at a licensed school, or a registered barber apprenticeship, within the preceding 24 months
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every year, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

New Mexico's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

New Mexico nail technician license

New Mexico calls it the Manicurist/Pedicurist license.

License
Manicurist/Pedicurist
Issued by
The New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
400 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical and written examinations conducted by the board
Who can apply
17 years old; course of study completed at a licensed school within the preceding 12 months
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every year, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

New Mexico's 400 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

New Mexico esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical and written examinations conducted by the board
Who can apply
17 years old; course of study completed at a licensed school within the preceding 12 months
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every year, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

New Mexico's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license New Mexico requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what New Mexico requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in New Mexico.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By expedited license: a current license in good standing in another jurisdiction (certain states are excluded for each license type), with the expedited license fee.

Good to know in New Mexico

  • A student permit is valid for 90 days after completing the course requirements, which is the window to take the exam.
  • Initial applications and renewals are submitted through the board's online portal.
  • The barber apprenticeship application guide includes a Jurisprudence Exam step.

Sources

What New Mexico's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE (1600 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE (1600 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“has passed the practical and written examination conducted by the board.”
srca.nm.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“is at least 17 years of age”
srca.nm.gov
“preceding 12 months; or for a barber license, proof that the applicant has either completed the course of study in a”
srca.nm.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Cosmetologist license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Annual Renewal Fees”
rld.nm.gov
“Cosmetologist license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: license
“BARBER LICENSE (1200 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: training hours
“BARBER LICENSE (1200 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: exams
“has passed the practical and written examination conducted by the board.”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: who can apply
“is at least 17 years of age”
srca.nm.gov
“licensed school within the preceding 24 months or has successfully completed a barber apprenticeship program”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: fees
“Barber license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Barber: renewal
“Annual Renewal Fees”
rld.nm.gov
“Barber license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: license
“MANICURIST/PEDICURIST LICENSE (400 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“MANICURIST/PEDICURIST LICENSE (400 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: exams
“has passed the practical and written examination conducted by the board.”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“is at least 17 years of age”
srca.nm.gov
“preceding 12 months; or for a barber license, proof that the applicant has either completed the course of study in a”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Manicurist/pedicurist license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Annual Renewal Fees”
rld.nm.gov
“Manicurist/pedicurist license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: license
“ESTHETICIAN LICENSE (600 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“ESTHETICIAN LICENSE (600 HOURS OR EQUIVALENT CREDIT)”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: exams
“has passed the practical and written examination conducted by the board.”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“is at least 17 years of age”
srca.nm.gov
“preceding 12 months; or for a barber license, proof that the applicant has either completed the course of study in a”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Esthetician license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Annual Renewal Fees”
rld.nm.gov
“Esthetician license (original and renewal): $100.00”
srca.nm.gov
Licensed in another state
“holds a current license in good standing in another jurisdiction, provided that an applicant”
srca.nm.gov
“Expedited license (original): $150.00”
srca.nm.gov
Also good to know
“Student permit are valid for 90 days following completion of graduation requirements.”
srca.nm.gov
Also good to know
“Applications for initial licensure and to renew your license must be submitted through an online portal.”
rld.nm.gov
Also good to know
“On the Jurisprudence Exam page, select the “Launch New” button on the page.”
rld.nm.gov

Questions

New Mexico beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in New Mexico?
1,600 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). New Mexico's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in New Mexico?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $100, and it renews every year, $100. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in New Mexico?
The Cosmetologist license renews every year for $100. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in New Mexico?
New Mexico calls it a Manicurist/Pedicurist license, issued by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 400 hours of training, practical and written examinations conducted by the board, $100 in state fees. It renews every year, $100.
How do you get an esthetician license in New Mexico?
New Mexico calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 600 hours of training, practical and written examinations conducted by the board, $100 in state fees. It renews every year, $100.
How do you get a barber license in New Mexico?
New Mexico calls it a Barber license, issued by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. It takes 1,200 hours of training, practical and written examinations conducted by the board, $100 in state fees. It renews every year, $100.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to New Mexico?
By expedited license: a current license in good standing in another jurisdiction (certain states are excluded for each license type), with the expedited license fee. The fee is $150. Apply with the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in New Mexico?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what New Mexico requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in New Mexico: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

New Mexico Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI