Louisiana beauty licenses

Louisiana cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Louisiana you need a Registered Cosmetologist license from the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $85 in state fees. Exams: practical, Louisiana state theory and national theory examinations. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Louisiana cosmetology license

Louisiana calls it the Registered Cosmetologist license.

License
Registered Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical, Louisiana state theory and national theory examinations
Who can apply
16 years old; tenth-grade education or equivalent (or high school diploma equivalent)
State fees, first license
$85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

Louisiana's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Louisiana barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Louisiana Board of Barber Examiners
Training
1,500 hoursA barber college course of 1,500 hours, completed within nine months. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Board examination (fitness to practice barbering)
Who can apply
18 years old; good moral character
State fees, first license
$40
Renewal
Every year, $50
Continuing education
Not stated

Louisiana's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Louisiana nail technician license

Louisiana calls it the Registered Manicurist license.

License
Registered Manicurist
Issued by
The Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
Training
500 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory and practical examinations
Who can apply
16 years old; tenth-grade education or equivalent (or high school diploma equivalent)
State fees, first license
$85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

Louisiana's 500 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Louisiana esthetician license

Louisiana calls it the Registered Esthetician license.

License
Registered Esthetician
Issued by
The Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
Training
750 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory and practical examinations
Who can apply
16 years old; tenth-grade education or equivalent (or high school diploma equivalent)
State fees, first license
$85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25)
Renewal
Every year, $35
Continuing education
Not stated

Louisiana's 750 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Louisiana requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Louisiana requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Louisiana.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

A cosmetologist, esthetician or manicurist licensed in another state or country must have completed and passed a course at a school licensed there, pass the board exam and pay the initial fee; a barber licensed in another state may be licensed without further examination if that state's requirements are equivalent and it has reciprocal provisions.

Good to know in Louisiana

  • Cosmetology students may take the practical exam after 1,400 curriculum hours and the written exam after 1,000 hours (LAC Title 46, Part XXXI).
  • Cosmetology salons may not have apprentices.
  • A barber applicant who fails the board exam may retake it every three months.

Sources

What Louisiana's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“In order to receive a certificate of registration as a registered cosmetologist,”
legis.la.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“1500 hours in an approved cosmetology school's cosmetologist curriculum”
lsbc.louisiana.gov
“The cosmetology curriculum shall consist of at least 1500 hours of instruction which shall include but not be limited to the following:”
doa.la.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Practical cosmetologist, Louisiana state theory, and national theory examinations shall be conducted at least twice monthly.”
legis.la.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen years of age.”
legis.la.gov
“as would be contemplated in the satisfactory completion of the tenth grade from an approved”
legis.la.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Theory examination                                                                             $25.00”
legis.la.gov
“(b) Practical examination                                                                              $25.00”
legis.la.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“(2) For each initial certificate of registration and each annual renewal of such”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“before such individual's date of birth, and such certificate shall expire thirty days following”
legis.la.gov
Barber: license
“Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration to practice barbering”
legis.la.gov
Barber: issued by
“from a barber college approved by the Louisiana State Board of Barber Examiners.”
legis.la.gov
Barber: training hours
“unless it requires as a prerequisite to graduation a course or instruction of not less than fifteen hundred hours completed within nine months”
legis.la.gov
Barber: exams
“Passes satisfactorily an examination conducted by the board to determine his fitness to”
legis.la.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years of age.”
legis.la.gov
Barber: fees
“of an applicant from this state to receive a certificate of registration to practice barbering $ 40.00”
legis.la.gov
Barber: renewal
“For each annual renewal of a barber's certificate $ 50.00”
legis.la.gov
“The annual registration renewal fee provided in Subsection A of this Section shall be due and payable no later than January thirty-first of each year.”
legis.la.gov
Nail technician: license
“To obtain a certificate as a registered manicurist, a person shall have completed”
legis.la.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“500 hours in an approved cosmetology school's manicuring curriculum”
lsbc.louisiana.gov
“A. Curriculum. The manicuring curriculum shall consist of at least 500 hours”
doa.la.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Esthetician, manicurist, and teacher examinations shall be conducted at least four times per calendar year.”
legis.la.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen years of age.”
legis.la.gov
“as would be contemplated in the satisfactory completion of the tenth grade from an approved”
legis.la.gov
Nail technician: fees
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Theory examination                                                                          $25.00”
legis.la.gov
“(b) Practical examination                                                                          $25.00”
legis.la.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“(2) For each initial certificate of registration and each annual renewal of such”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“before such individual's date of birth, and such certificate shall expire thirty days following”
legis.la.gov
Esthetician: license
“To obtain a certificate as a registered esthetician, a person shall have completed”
legis.la.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“750 hours in an approved cosmetology school's esthetician curriculum”
lsbc.louisiana.gov
“A. Curriculum. The esthetics curriculum shall consist of at least 750 hours of instruction”
doa.la.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Esthetician, manicurist, and teacher examinations shall be conducted at least four times per calendar year.”
legis.la.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen years of age.”
legis.la.gov
“as would be contemplated in the satisfactory completion of the tenth grade from an approved”
legis.la.gov
Esthetician: fees
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Theory examination                                                                          $25.00”
legis.la.gov
“(b) Practical examination                                                                           $25.00”
legis.la.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“(2) For each initial certificate of registration and each annual renewal of such”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
“before such individual's date of birth, and such certificate shall expire thirty days following”
legis.la.gov
Licensed in another state
“C. The board shall issue the appropriate certificate of registration to any person who”
legis.la.gov
“may be licensed without further examination if the person”
legis.la.gov
“(a) Cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, teacher/instructor, or manager      $35.00”
legis.la.gov
Also good to know
“cosmetology students who have completed 1400 hours of the cosmetology curriculum may take the practical exam”
doa.la.gov
Also good to know
“Yes, you may employ Barbers, however, cosmetology salons are not allowed to have”
lsbc.louisiana.gov
Also good to know
“B. Any applicant for a certificate of registration who fails to satisfactorily pass an”
legis.la.gov

Questions

Louisiana beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Louisiana?
1,500 hours of training for a Registered Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Louisiana's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Louisiana?
The state's fees for a first Registered Cosmetologist license are $85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25), and it renews every year, $35. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Louisiana?
The Registered Cosmetologist license renews every year for $35. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Louisiana?
Louisiana calls it a Registered Manicurist license, issued by the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 500 hours of training, theory and practical examinations, $85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25) in state fees. It renews every year, $35.
How do you get an esthetician license in Louisiana?
Louisiana calls it a Registered Esthetician license, issued by the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 750 hours of training, theory and practical examinations, $85 (initial certificate of registration $35 plus theory examination $25 plus practical examination $25) in state fees. It renews every year, $35.
How do you get a barber license in Louisiana?
Louisiana calls it a Barber license, issued by the Louisiana Board of Barber Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of training, board examination (fitness to practice barbering), $40 in state fees. It renews every year, $50.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Louisiana?
A cosmetologist, esthetician or manicurist licensed in another state or country must have completed and passed a course at a school licensed there, pass the board exam and pay the initial fee; a barber licensed in another state may be licensed without further examination if that state's requirements are equivalent and it has reciprocal provisions. The fee is $35. Apply with the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Louisiana?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Louisiana requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Louisiana: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Louisiana Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI