North Carolina beauty licenses
North Carolina cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in North Carolina you need a Cosmetologist license from the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $49 in state fees. Exams: written and practical Board exams (75% or higher). Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,500
- Barber hours
- 1,528
Licensed by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
North Carolina cosmetology license
- License
- Cosmetologist
- Issued by
- The North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
- Training
- 1,500 hours1,500 hours; or 1,200 hours plus an apprenticeship of at least six months About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical Board exams (75% or higher)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $49
- Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education
- 24 hours per renewal
North Carolina's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
North Carolina barber license
North Carolina calls it the Licensed Barber license.
- License
- Licensed Barber
- Issued by
- The North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners
- Training
- 1,528 hours1,528 hours at an approved barber school, then a 12-month apprenticeship (an apprentice license is issued first) About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Apprentice exam, then a clinical exam for the licensed barber license
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $85
- Renewal
- Every year
- Continuing education
- Not stated
North Carolina's 1,528 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
North Carolina nail technician license
North Carolina calls it the Manicurist license.
- License
- Manicurist
- Issued by
- The North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
- Training
- 300 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical Board exams (75% or higher)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $20
- Renewal
- Every year
- Continuing education
- 8 hours per renewal
North Carolina's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
North Carolina esthetician license
- License
- Esthetician
- Issued by
- The North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
- Training
- 600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical Board exams (75% or higher)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $20
- Renewal
- Every year
- Continuing education
- 8 hours per renewal
North Carolina's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license North Carolina requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what North Carolina requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in North Carolina.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
By endorsement: an active, good-standing license from another state, practice in one of the three years before applying, and licensing requirements substantially equivalent to North Carolina's (barbers: G.S. 86B-28, practice in one of the five years before applying); the Board's out-of-state fees are $64 for cosmetologists and $35 for other licenses.
Good to know in North Carolina
- Graduates can apply for a temporary permit by paying a $5 fee to the Board office.
- Lash extension application requires a cosmetologist or esthetician license and work in a licensed cosmetic art shop.
- Senate Bill 808 may change licensure requirements for all cosmetic art disciplines; the Board's notice dated 5/5/2026 said no changes had been finalized.
Sources
What North Carolina's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“(8) Cosmetologist. - Any individual who is licensed to practice all parts of cosmetic art.”
ncleg.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“Successful completion of at least 1,500 hours of a cosmetology curriculum in an approved cosmetic art school”
ncleg.gov “or at least 1,200 hours of a cosmetology curriculum in an approved cosmetic art school and completion of an apprenticeship”
ncleg.gov “completion of an apprenticeship for a period of at least six months under the direct supervision of a cosmetologist”
ncleg.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“Each examination shall have both a practical and a written portion.”
ncleg.gov “Passage of the State Board examination 75% or higher”
nccosmeticarts.com - Cosmetologist: fees
“Cosmetologist $49”
nccosmeticarts.com “Cosmetologist: $49 overpayments will be returned”
nccosmeticarts.com - Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetologist licenses shall be renewed on or before October 1 every three years”
ncleg.gov “A cosmetologist may complete up to 24 hours of required continuing education at any time within the cosmetologist's three-year licensing cycle.”
ncleg.gov - Barber: license
“either as a licensed apprentice or as a licensed barber”
ncleg.gov - Barber: issued by
“by the North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners”
ncleg.gov - Barber: training hours
“Has attended an approved barber school for at least 1528 hours.”
ncleg.gov “Has completed a 12-month apprenticeship under the supervision of a licensed barber”
ncleg.gov - Barber: exams
“Before being issued an apprentice license, an applicant must pass an examination conducted by the Board”
ncleg.gov “Has passed a clinical examination conducted by the Board.”
ncleg.gov - Barber: fees
“The exam fee is $85.”
barbers.nc.gov - Barber: renewal
“Licensed barbers who continue in practice shall annually, on or before May 31 of each year, renew their licenses”
ncleg.gov - Nail technician: license
“(13) Manicurist. - An individual licensed by the Board to practice only that part of cosmetic art that constitutes manicuring.”
ncleg.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“Successful completion of at least 300 hours of a manicurist curriculum in an approved cosmetic art school”
ncleg.gov - Nail technician: exams
“Each examination shall have both a practical and a written portion.”
ncleg.gov “Passage of the State Board examination 75% or higher”
nccosmeticarts.com - Nail technician: fees
“Manicurist: $20 overpayments will be returned”
nccosmeticarts.com - Nail technician: renewal
“Apprentice, esthetician, natural hair care specialist, and manicurist licenses shall be renewed annually on or before October 1 of each year.”
ncleg.gov “Licensees that are not exempt or inactive must complete 8 hours of CE per year.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Esthetician: license
“(10) Esthetician. - An individual licensed by the Board to practice only that part of cosmetic art that constitutes skin care.”
ncleg.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“Successful completion of at least 600 hours of an esthetics curriculum in an approved cosmetic art school”
ncleg.gov - Esthetician: exams
“Each examination shall have both a practical and a written portion.”
ncleg.gov “Passage of the State Board examination 75% or higher”
nccosmeticarts.com - Esthetician: fees
“Esthetician: $20 overpayments will be returned”
nccosmeticarts.com - Esthetician: renewal
“Apprentice, esthetician, natural hair care specialist, and manicurist licenses shall be renewed annually on or before October 1 of each year.”
ncleg.gov “Licensees that are not exempt or inactive must complete 8 hours of CE per year.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Licensed in another state
“The applicant has practiced at least one of the three years immediately preceding the application for a license.”
ncleg.gov “$64 – Cosmetologist license”
nccosmeticarts.com “$35 – Apprentice, Esthetician, Manicurist, Natural Hair Care and Teacher licenses”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“The graduate submits the temporary permit form and $5 fee to the Board office.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“To perform lash extension application services an individual must hold either an esthetician license or cosmetology license and be practicing in a licensed cosmetic art shop.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“proposed legislation in Senate Bill 808 may change licensure requirements for all cosmetic art disciplines”
nccosmeticarts.com
Questions
North Carolina beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in North Carolina?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in North Carolina?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in North Carolina?
How do you get a nail technician license in North Carolina?
How do you get an esthetician license in North Carolina?
How do you get a barber license in North Carolina?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to North Carolina?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in North Carolina?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What North Carolina requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in North Carolina, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in North Carolina: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.