North Carolina microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in North Carolina?

Yes. Anyone doing microblading or permanent makeup in North Carolina needs an individual tattooing permit from the local health department, valid for one year and renewed annually, for each location where they work. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what North Carolina says about microblading itself, each answered from North Carolina's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
License needed
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

Licensed by North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (tattooing permits are issued through local health departments).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in North Carolina?

Yes. Anyone doing microblading or permanent makeup in North Carolina needs an individual tattooing permit from the local health department, valid for one year and renewed annually, for each location where they work.

License needed
License needed
License name
Tattooing Permit
Training hours
Not stated
State fee
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in North Carolina?

Not stated. North Carolina issues the tattooing permit to the individual artist for the address where they work; the official pages we read name no separate studio license. Ask the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in North Carolina?

Yes, by name. County health departments name microblading and permanent makeup as tattooing that needs the permit; the state's law and rules do not use the word.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in North Carolina?

Yes. Under state law the local health departments inspect premises and issue and renew tattooing permits, so the county health department is where artists apply.

Good to know

What else North Carolina asks of permanent makeup artists

  • A tattooing permit is valid for one year and must be renewed annually.
  • Tattooing anyone under 18 is a crime under G.S. 14-400 (Class 2 misdemeanor).
  • Bloodborne pathogen training is encouraged, not required, by Orange County Environmental Health. Not a state requirement.

Sources

What North Carolina's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of North Carolina's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services before you start.

The artist's license
“Tattooing includes traditional tattoos, permanent makeup, and microblading or shading.”
pittcountync.gov
“means the inserting of permanent markings or coloration, or the producing of scars, upon or under human skin through puncturing by use of a needle or any other method.”
ncleg.gov
“No person shall engage in tattooing without first obtaining a tattooing permit from the Department.”
ncleg.gov
Who issues it
“the Department, acting through the local health department, shall inspect the premises”
ncleg.gov
“"Department" means the Department of Health and Human Services.”
ncleg.gov
Microblading by name
“Is a permit required for artists who apply permanent makeup or do microblading?”
brunswickcountync.gov
Also good to know
“A permit is valid for one year and must be renewed annually by applying to the Department for a permit renewal.”
ncleg.gov
Also good to know
“It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to tattoo the arm, limb, or any part of the body of any other person under 18 years of age.”
ncleg.gov
Also good to know
“Artists are strongly encouraged to have a current Bloodborne Pathogen Certificate”
orangecountync.gov

Questions

North Carolina microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in North Carolina?
Yes. Anyone doing microblading or permanent makeup in North Carolina needs an individual tattooing permit from the local health department, valid for one year and renewed annually, for each location where they work.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in North Carolina?
Yes, by name. County health departments name microblading and permanent makeup as tattooing that needs the permit; the state's law and rules do not use the word.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in North Carolina?
Not stated. North Carolina issues the tattooing permit to the individual artist for the address where they work; the official pages we read name no separate studio license. Ask the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in North Carolina?
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (tattooing permits are issued through local health departments). Under state law the local health departments inspect premises and issue and renew tattooing permits, so the county health department is where artists apply.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in North Carolina?
Only if it is one of the licenses North Carolina names for the work: Tattooing Permit. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in North Carolina: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in North Carolina | SalonAI