Nevada microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in Nevada?
Not stated at the state level. Nevada's state rules license the establishment, and the pages we read name no statewide license for the artist. In Clark County, the Southern Nevada Health District requires a Body Art Card or a Microblading Card. Ask the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health before you start. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Nevada says about microblading itself, each answered from Nevada's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- Not stated
- Studio license
- License needed
- Studio fee
- $290
- Local rules
- County or city too
Licensed by Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Environmental Health Section.The agency's page The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Nevada?
Not stated at the state level. Nevada's state rules license the establishment, and the pages we read name no statewide license for the artist. In Clark County, the Southern Nevada Health District requires a Body Art Card or a Microblading Card. Ask the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health before you start.
- License needed
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in Nevada?
Yes. Permanent makeup must be done at an establishment holding a health authority permit; the state Division's annual permit fee is $290.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Permit to operate an invasive body decoration establishment
- State fee
- $290
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in Nevada?
Yes, by name. The Southern Nevada Health District names microblading: people who practice it must hold a Body Art Card or Microblading Card, and face-only microblading experience qualifies for a Microblading Card.
Local rules
Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Nevada?
Yes. The Southern Nevada Health District regulates, permits and inspects body art establishments in Clark County, and state rules define the health authority to include local boards of health.
Good to know
What else Nevada asks of permanent makeup artists
- Operators must be at least 18 and complete an approved bloodborne pathogen training program within 10 days of starting and annually after.
- In Clark County, artists need a Body Art Card or Microblading Card from the Southern Nevada Health District.
- Body Art Cards are valid for two years and may be renewed within 60 days before expiration.
Sources
What Nevada's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Nevada's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health before you start.
- The studio's license
“an invasive body decoration procedure must be performed at an invasive body decoration establishment which has been issued a permit”
leg.state.nv.us ““Invasive body decoration procedure” means any technique used to permanently or temporarily adorn, stretch or decorate the body, including, without limitation, tattooing, permanent makeup”
leg.state.nv.us ““Permit” means written approval by the health authority to operate an invasive body decoration establishment.”
leg.state.nv.us “the Division shall charge and collect fees for a permit to operate an invasive body decoration establishment”
leg.state.nv.us “Annual permit.........................................................................................$290”
leg.state.nv.us - Who issues it
““Division” means the Division of Public and Behavioral Health of the Department of Health and Human Services.”
leg.state.nv.us - Local rules
““Health authority” means officers and agents of the Division or the local boards of health.”
leg.state.nv.us “The Southern Nevada Health District Environmental Health Division regulates, permits and inspects all body art establishments.”
southernnevadahealthdistrict.org - Microblading by name
“Body Art Cards are required for tattoo artists, permanent make-up artists, people who practice microblading, as well as body piercing practitioners.”
southernnevadahealthdistrict.org - Also good to know
“Be at least 18 years of age; and”
leg.state.nv.us - Also good to know
“All artists in Clark County who provide body art services need to have either a Body Art Card or a Microblading Card issued by the Southern Nevada Health District.”
southernnevadahealthdistrict.org - Also good to know
“Body Art Cards are valid for two years and may be renewed within 60 days before the expiration date.”
southernnevadahealthdistrict.org
Questions
Nevada microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in Nevada?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Nevada?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Nevada?
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Nevada?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Nevada?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Nevada: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in Nevada
- What Nevada requires to open a salon or studio
- What Nevada inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Nevada: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.