Virginia microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Virginia?

Yes. In Virginia, anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetic tattooing for compensation needs a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license from the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology; a Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license is a separate license for advanced work. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Virginia says about microblading itself, each answered from Virginia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
License needed
Studio license
License needed
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
Not stated

Licensed by Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Virginia?

Yes. In Virginia, anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetic tattooing for compensation needs a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license from the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology; a Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license is a separate license for advanced work.

License needed
License needed
License name
Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License, Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License
Training hours
200 hours
State fee
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Virginia?

Yes. A business that offers permanent cosmetic tattooing must hold a Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo Salon license from the same Board, in addition to the individual artist licenses.

License needed
License needed
License name
Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo Salon License
State fee
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Virginia?

Yes, by name. The official regulation names microblading in its definition of a permanent cosmetic tattooer, so microblading falls under the same tattooing license as other permanent cosmetic work.

Good to know

What else Virginia asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Every licensed permanent cosmetic tattooer must complete board-approved bloodborne disease, sterilization, aseptic technique and first aid education during each licensed term, documented at renewal.
  • A temporary license for a new applicant lasts 90 days and is only valid while the holder works under the direct supervision of a licensed individual.
  • A license from another state is not enough: the Board says state law prohibits practicing or offering tattooing, including permanent cosmetic work, in Virginia without a Virginia license.

Sources

What Virginia's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Virginia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology before you start.

The artist's license
“the placing of designs, letters, scrolls, figures, symbols, or any other marks upon or under the skin of any person with ink or any other substance, resulting in the permanent coloration of the skin, including permanent make-up or permanent jewelry”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“Any individual wishing to engage in tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic tattooing must obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, master permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, permanent cosmetic tattoo salon licenses”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer - Exam & License Application”
dpor.virginia.gov
“Curriculum and performance requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-280 D and E must be taught over a minimum of 200 clock hours for permanent cosmetic tattooing program”
law.lis.virginia.gov
The studio's license
“must obtain a tattoo parlor license, event tattoo parlor license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Who issues it
“The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology licenses individuals and businesses that perform barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body piercing, and esthetics.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Microblading by name
“practices permanent cosmetic tattooing known in the industry as basic permanent cosmetic tattooing, including eyebrows, microblading, scalp micropigmentation”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“must satisfactorily complete board-approved health education to include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and (ii) first aid during their licensed term.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“The temporary license will remain in force for 90 days and no subsequent temporary license will be issued.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“State law prohibits any person from practicing or offering to practice barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body piercing, or esthetics in the Commonwealth without a Virginia license.”
dpor.virginia.gov

Questions

Virginia microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Virginia?
Yes. In Virginia, anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetic tattooing for compensation needs a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license from the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology; a Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer license is a separate license for advanced work.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Virginia?
Yes, by name. The official regulation names microblading in its definition of a permanent cosmetic tattooer, so microblading falls under the same tattooing license as other permanent cosmetic work.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Virginia?
Yes. A business that offers permanent cosmetic tattooing must hold a Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo Salon license from the same Board, in addition to the individual artist licenses.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Virginia?
Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation).
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Virginia?
Only if it is one of the licenses Virginia names for the work: Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License or Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Virginia: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Virginia | SalonAI