New Jersey microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in New Jersey?

Not stated at the state level. New Jersey's rules set training and experience standards for permanent cosmetics and microblading practitioners, including a 100-hour basic permanent cosmetics course, but name no state license for the individual artist; the local health department licenses the establishment. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what New Jersey says about microblading itself, each answered from New Jersey's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
License needed
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in New Jersey?

Not stated at the state level. New Jersey's rules set training and experience standards for permanent cosmetics and microblading practitioners, including a 100-hour basic permanent cosmetics course, but name no state license for the individual artist; the local health department licenses the establishment. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in New Jersey?

Yes. A studio that performs permanent cosmetics must hold a body art establishment license issued by the local health department before it opens, and the license or permit must be renewed annually.

License needed
License needed
License name
body art establishment license
State fee
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in New Jersey?

Yes, by name. New Jersey's rules define microblading as a form of permanent cosmetics.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in New Jersey?

Yes. The local health department licenses the body art establishment under the state's rules (N.J.A.C. 8:27).

Good to know

What else New Jersey asks of permanent makeup artists

  • A practitioner already working at a licensed body art establishment must notify the local health department once qualified.
  • Apprentices and practitioners must complete bloodborne pathogen training that complies with OSHA 29 CFR 1910.1030.
  • Body art procedures on a person under 18 require the written consent of a parent or legal guardian.

Sources

What New Jersey's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of New Jersey's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

The artist's license
“Successfully complete at least 100 hours of training provided by one or more trainers or instructors”
nj.gov
The studio's license
“appropriate license or permit. This license or permit shall be renewed annually.”
nj.gov
“used to puncture the skin, resulting in permanent coloration of the skin or mucosa. This includes all forms of permanent cosmetics.”
nj.gov
“Applicants can also apply for a body art establishment license with the local health department, if they desire to operate independently.”
nj.gov
Microblading by name
“permanent alteration of tissue to gain a cosmetic effect, and includes the form of micropigmentation known as "microblading."”
nj.gov
“"Microblading" means a permanent cosmetics procedure performed by a qualified permanent cosmetics practitioner or apprentice at a permanent”
nj.gov
Also good to know
“they shall notify the local health department, if they're already working for an existing licensed body art establishment.”
nj.gov
Also good to know
“All apprentices and practitioners must obtain bloodborne pathogen training that is compliant with OSHA regulation 29 CFR 1910.1030.”
nj.gov
Also good to know
“(c) Body art procedures on a person under 18 years of age shall not be performed without the written consent of the parent or legal guardian of”
nj.gov

Questions

New Jersey microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in New Jersey?
Not stated at the state level. New Jersey's rules set training and experience standards for permanent cosmetics and microblading practitioners, including a 100-hour basic permanent cosmetics course, but name no state license for the individual artist; the local health department licenses the establishment. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in New Jersey?
Yes, by name. New Jersey's rules define microblading as a form of permanent cosmetics.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in New Jersey?
Yes. A studio that performs permanent cosmetics must hold a body art establishment license issued by the local health department before it opens, and the license or permit must be renewed annually.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in New Jersey?
New Jersey's rules set training and experience standards for permanent cosmetics and microblading practitioners, including a 100-hour basic permanent cosmetics course, but name no state license for the individual artist; the local health department licenses the establishment. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in New Jersey: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in New Jersey | SalonAI