Utah microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in Utah?
Not stated at the state level. Utah's law defines permanent cosmetics and microblading, but the official pages we read name no state license for the individual artist. Ask the state health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what Utah says about microblading itself, each answered from Utah's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- Not stated
- Studio license
- Not stated
- Artist fee
- Not stated
- Local rules
- Not stated
No state agency licenses the work on the pages we read.The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Utah?
Not stated at the state level. Utah's law defines permanent cosmetics and microblading, but the official pages we read name no state license for the individual artist. Ask the state health department before you start.
- License needed
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in Utah?
Not stated. Utah's law puts body art facilities, including those offering permanent cosmetics, under the state's minimum sanitation rules; the official pages we read do not name a state or local permit for them. Ask the state health department.
- License needed
- Not stated
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in Utah?
Yes, by name. Utah's law defines microblading and names it as a type of permanent cosmetics.
Good to know
What else Utah asks of permanent makeup artists
- The statute's definition of permanent cosmetics excludes procedures performed by a person licensed as a physician or osteopath.
- Body art facilities, which include those offering permanent cosmetics, are among the facilities the state directs the Department of Health and Human Services to set minimum sanitation rules for.
Sources
What Utah's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Utah's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the state health department before you start.
- Microblading by name
“"Microblading" means a procedure where a hand tool with a blade formed of tiny needles implants permanent or semi-permanent pigment, resembling hair, into the skin of the eyebrow area with fine and short strokes.”
le.utah.gov “"Permanent cosmetics" includes permanent makeup, micropigmentation, micropigment implantation, microblading, dermagraphics, or cosmetic tattooing.”
le.utah.gov - Also good to know
“performed by an individual not licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act, or Title 58, Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act”
le.utah.gov - Also good to know
“(19)a body art facility.”
le.utah.gov
Questions
Utah microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in Utah?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Utah?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Utah?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Utah?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Utah: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in Utah
- What Utah requires to open a salon or studio
- What Utah inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Utah: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.