West Virginia microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in West Virginia?

Not stated at the state level. West Virginia's tattoo law regulates the studio; the official pages we read name no license for the individual microblading or permanent makeup artist. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what West Virginia says about microblading itself, each answered from West Virginia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
License needed
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in West Virginia?

Not stated at the state level. West Virginia's tattoo law regulates the studio; the official pages we read name no license for the individual microblading or permanent makeup artist. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in West Virginia?

Yes. A studio that does microblading must get a West Virginia business registration certificate, register with its local or regional board of health, and pass inspection for an operating permit, which costs $200 under state law.

License needed
License needed
License name
West Virginia business registration certificate, operating permit from the local or regional board of health
State fee
$200

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in West Virginia?

Yes, by name. A county health department says the state has determined that microblading is tattooing and must be done in a permitted facility.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in West Virginia?

Yes. Local health departments, not the state, issue the tattoo studio operating permit and inspect studios, so you apply to your county or regional board of health.

Good to know

What else West Virginia asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Tattoo studios must get an operating permit from the county health department, and the permit must be posted where the public can see it.
  • Written consent from one parent or guardian is required before tattooing a minor (under 18 under §16-38-1).
  • The tattoo studio rules are in state statute (Chapter 16, Article 38), not in a legislative rule. The Greenbrier page points to Rule 64 CSR 80, but the state's own page says that rule covers body piercing.

Sources

What West Virginia's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of West Virginia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

The studio's license
“Tattoo studios in West Virginia shall obtain a West Virginia business registration certificate and shall register with their local or regional board of health.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“means to mark or color the skin by pricking in coloring matter so as to form indelible marks or figures”
code.wvlegislature.gov
“Please be aware the State of West Virginia has determined that microblading meets the definition of tattooing and therefore must be conducted in a permitted facility.”
greenbrierhealth.wv.gov
“Tattoo Studios must obtain an operational permit in their respective county from the Local Health Department.”
oehs.wvdhhr.org
“The fee for the issuance of an operating permit issued pursuant to this article shall be $200 and shall be paid by the tattoo studio receiving the permit.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“there shall be issued to the studio an operating permit that shall be posted in a conspicuous place, clearly visible to the general public.”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“Prior written consent for tattooing of minors shall be obtained from one parent or guardian”
code.wvlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“Unlike many Environmental Health programs whose regulations are based on Legislative Rules, the Regulation for Tattoo Studios is in”
oehs.wvdhhr.org

Questions

West Virginia microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in West Virginia?
Not stated at the state level. West Virginia's tattoo law regulates the studio; the official pages we read name no license for the individual microblading or permanent makeup artist. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in West Virginia?
Yes, by name. A county health department says the state has determined that microblading is tattooing and must be done in a permitted facility.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in West Virginia?
Yes. A studio that does microblading must get a West Virginia business registration certificate, register with its local or regional board of health, and pass inspection for an operating permit, which costs $200 under state law.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in West Virginia?
West Virginia's tattoo law regulates the studio; the official pages we read name no license for the individual microblading or permanent makeup artist. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in West Virginia: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in West Virginia | SalonAI