Hawaii microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Hawaii?

Yes. Hawaii defines a tattoo artist as anyone who puts pigment beneath the skin to make permanent or semi-permanent marks, with needles, hand tools or other means, which is what microblading and permanent makeup do, and no one may practice without a Department of Health tattoo artist license ($75). Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Hawaii says about microblading itself, each answered from Hawaii's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
License needed
Studio license
License needed
Local rules
Not stated

Licensed by Hawaii Department of Health, Food Safety Branch (tattoo artist licenses and tattoo shop permits).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Hawaii?

Yes. Hawaii defines a tattoo artist as anyone who puts pigment beneath the skin to make permanent or semi-permanent marks, with needles, hand tools or other means, which is what microblading and permanent makeup do, and no one may practice without a Department of Health tattoo artist license ($75).

License needed
License needed
License name
Tattoo artist license
Training hours
Not stated
State fee
$75

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Hawaii?

Yes. No one may operate a tattoo shop in Hawaii without a Department of Health permit, $125 for the first year and $75 a year to renew.

License needed
License needed
License name
Tattoo shop permit
State fee
$125

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Hawaii?

Not by name. Hawaii's official pages we read do not use the word microblading, but they license permanent makeup or tattooing, and microblading deposits pigment in the skin the same way. Ask the Hawaii Department of Health before you treat it as anything else.

Good to know

What else Hawaii asks of permanent makeup artists

  • New tattoo artist license applicants submit a copy of their bloodborne pathogen certificate with the application, and DOH verifies the certificate (2023 DOH guide).
  • Licensed tattoo artists may work only in a shop or temporary location that has a valid permit issued by the director.
  • Under the DOH tattoo rules (HAR 11-17-7, 2015 text), it is unlawful to tattoo anyone under 18 without written parental or guardian consent.

Sources

What Hawaii's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Hawaii's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Hawaii Department of Health before you start.

The artist's license
“"Tattoo artist" means any person who creates indelible marks or decorative designs by introducing pigments beneath the surface of the skin, resulting in permanent or semi-permanent markings”
capitol.hawaii.gov
“no person shall practice the occupation of tattoo artist in this State, with or without compensation, consideration, or donation”
capitol.hawaii.gov
“without having a valid unrevoked license from the department to do so.”
capitol.hawaii.gov
“c. Fee: $75. Cash or Check (Check payable to: State of Hawaii)”
health.hawaii.gov
The studio's license
“No person, partnership, firm, corporation, or other legal entity shall operate a tattoo shop or temporary location without a permit pursuant to department rules.”
capitol.hawaii.gov
“Each initial permit application under this section shall be accompanied by a fee of $125 for a permit valid for one year.”
capitol.hawaii.gov
Who issues it
“Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 321 Sections 371-383”
health.hawaii.gov
Also good to know
“a. Copy of the Blood Borne Pathogen Certificate (We will verify your certificate)”
health.hawaii.gov
Also good to know
“Licensed tattoo artists shall tattoo only in a shop or temporary location that has a valid unrevoked permit issued by the director.”
data.capitol.hawaii.gov
Also good to know
“It shall be unlawful to tattoo any person under the age of eighteen years”
health.hawaii.gov

Questions

Hawaii microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Hawaii?
Yes. Hawaii defines a tattoo artist as anyone who puts pigment beneath the skin to make permanent or semi-permanent marks, with needles, hand tools or other means, which is what microblading and permanent makeup do, and no one may practice without a Department of Health tattoo artist license ($75).
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Hawaii?
Not by name. Hawaii's official pages we read do not use the word microblading, but they license permanent makeup or tattooing, and microblading deposits pigment in the skin the same way. Ask the Hawaii Department of Health before you treat it as anything else.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Hawaii?
Yes. No one may operate a tattoo shop in Hawaii without a Department of Health permit, $125 for the first year and $75 a year to renew.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Hawaii?
Hawaii Department of Health, Food Safety Branch (tattoo artist licenses and tattoo shop permits).
How much does a permanent makeup license cost in Hawaii?
The state fee for the Tattoo artist license is $75, on Hawaii's official pages. Training, a bloodborne pathogens course and any county permit cost extra.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Hawaii?
Only if it is one of the licenses Hawaii names for the work: Tattoo artist license. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Hawaii: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Hawaii | SalonAI