Idaho microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in Idaho?
Not stated at the state level. Idaho's official pages name no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists, and none says no license is needed. Idaho's tattoo law defines a tattoo as an indelible mark made by inserting pigment under the skin, and Idaho's cosmetology law does not mention permanent cosmetics. Ask the state health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what Idaho says about microblading itself, each answered from Idaho's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- Not stated
- Studio license
- Not stated
- Artist fee
- Not stated
- Local rules
- Not stated
No state agency licenses the work on the pages we read.The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Idaho?
Not stated at the state level. Idaho's official pages name no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists, and none says no license is needed. Idaho's tattoo law defines a tattoo as an indelible mark made by inserting pigment under the skin, and Idaho's cosmetology law does not mention permanent cosmetics. Ask the state health department before you start.
- License needed
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in Idaho?
Not stated. Idaho's official pages name no state license for a studio that offers microblading or permanent makeup. Ask the state health department.
- License needed
- Not stated
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in Idaho?
Not by name. Idaho's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.
Good to know
What else Idaho asks of permanent makeup artists
- No one may tattoo a minor under 14 years old.
- For minors aged 14 to 17, the artist needs the parent's or guardian's prior written informed consent, signed in the artist's presence.
- The 1998 bill that would have licensed tattooing, body piercing and permanent cosmetics passed the House but shows no action after its Senate referral, so it is not shown to be law.
Sources
What Idaho's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Idaho's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the state health department before you start.
- Also good to know
“No person shall knowingly tattoo, brand, facilitate use of a tanning device or perform body piercing on any minor under the age of fourteen (14) years.”
legislature.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“unless such person obtains the prior written informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian.”
legislature.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“Senate intro - 1st rdg as amen - to Com/HuRes”
legislature.idaho.gov
Questions
Idaho microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in Idaho?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Idaho?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Idaho?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Idaho?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Idaho: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in Idaho
- What Idaho requires to open a salon or studio
- What Idaho inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Idaho: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.