Arizona salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Arizona

To open a salon in Arizona you need a Establishment License for the business, issued by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $113 to the state (establishment license $110 plus service fee $3) and is renewed for $50. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.

Licensed by
Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board
Business license
Establishment License
New salon fee
$113
Renewal
$50
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
No
Booth renters need a license
Not stated
Barbershops
Same license

Licensed by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Arizona

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs an Arizona license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Arizona cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Put a licensed person in charge. Each establishment must name an individual as its manager.

  3. 3

    Apply for the Establishment License with the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board (application), paying $113 to the state (establishment license $110 plus service fee $3). Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.

  4. 4

    Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed for $50.

  5. 5

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Arizona puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Arizona salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

  • Arizona's $113 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.

Good to know

What else Arizona asks of a salon

  • The safety and sanitary requirements in the board's rules apply while the establishment is operating.
  • Board inspectors may inspect the premises of any establishment during business hours.
  • Salon suites need their own establishment license and must meet the same requirements as full establishments.

Sources

What Arizona's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

The salon license
“A person is entitled to receive a license to operate an establishment if the person:”
azleg.gov
Fees for a new salon
“Initial: $110 Renewal: $50 Delinquent: $30 Suite Change: $20”
bcb.az.gov
“All fees have a $3 Service Fee added.”
bcb.az.gov
Other license types
“All fees have a $3 Service Fee added.”
bcb.az.gov
“Application for establishment license, including change of name, change of ownership and change of location, $200.”
azleg.gov
Renewal
“Initial: $110 Renewal: $50 Delinquent: $30 Suite Change: $20”
bcb.az.gov
The owner
“If you are not a licensee but you own an establishment, you will need to create an individual account.”
bcb.az.gov
Person in charge
“Each establishment shall have an individual designated as the manager of the establishment.”
azleg.gov
Barbershops
“Type of Establishment to be licensed: 1. Aesthetics 2. Barber 3. Cosmetology”
barberboard.az.gov
“Initial: $110 Renewal: $50 Delinquent: $30 Suite Change: $20”
bcb.az.gov
Who licenses salons
“Arizona Barbering & Cosmetology Board 1740 W Adams St #4400”
barberboard.az.gov
Also good to know
“The safety and sanitary requirements specified by the board in its rules shall be requirements while an establishment is operating.”
azleg.gov
Also good to know
“Inspect the premises of any establishment or school during business hours.”
azleg.gov
Also good to know
“You must have an establishment license if you are in a suite.”
bcb.az.gov

Questions

Arizona salon licenses, answered

How much is a salon license in Arizona?
A new Establishment License costs $113 to the state (establishment license $110 plus service fee $3) and is renewed for $50. The board adds a $3 service fee to every fee, included above. That is the state's fee only: build-out, equipment and opening stock are most of the cost of opening (see what it costs to open a salon).
Do you need a license to own a salon in Arizona?
No. Arizona's official pages say the owner does not need a practitioner license of their own, but the business needs an Establishment License and everyone who does services needs their own license. Each establishment must name an individual as its manager.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Arizona?
No. In Arizona the same establishment license covers barbershops and salons.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Arizona salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Arizona Salon Establishment License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI