Oklahoma esthetician scope of practice
What can an esthetician do in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma licenses estheticians as an Esthetician/Facialist/Facial Operator through the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. The basic license covers skin care, make-up and hair removal services (not electrolysis) and excludes services that puncture the skin or fall within the scope of the healing arts. Below: whether that license covers microneedling, chemical peels, dermaplaning, laser and IPL, and Botox or fillers, each answered from Oklahoma's own statutes, board rules or board statements, read on October 27, 2026.
- Microneedling
- Not allowed
- Chemical peels
- With conditions
- Dermaplaning
- Not stated
- Laser and IPL
- Not allowed
- Botox and fillers
- Not allowed
Licensed by Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.The board's page The state's own words
Microneedling
Can estheticians do microneedling in Oklahoma?
No. Microneedling is listed among services that puncture the skin, which the rule places beyond the esthetician license.
Chemical peels
Can estheticians do chemical peels in Oklahoma?
Only with conditions. Chemical peels are limited to exfoliating the stratum corneum, at 30% ingredient concentration or less or pH not below 3, unless every condition in the rule is met (manufacturer documentation, training, and following manufacturer directions).
Dermaplaning
Can estheticians do dermaplaning in Oklahoma?
Not stated. The official rules do not clearly settle dermaplaning: a general permission for mechanical exfoliation of the stratum corneum and a ban on blades used to remove skin point in different directions. Ask the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer it.
Laser and IPL
Can estheticians do laser hair removal in Oklahoma?
No. Laser treatments are listed among services that puncture the skin, which the rule places beyond the esthetician license.
Botox and fillers
Can estheticians do Botox or fillers in Oklahoma?
No. Injections of any kind, including needle-free injections, are listed among services that puncture the skin, which the rule places beyond the esthetician license.
Advanced license
Does Oklahoma have a master esthetician license?
Oklahoma's official pages we read name no advanced or master esthetician license; the basic Esthetician/Facialist/Facial Operator license is the one that sets the scope.
Good to know
What else Oklahoma says about an esthetician's scope
- Puncturing the skin is defined as perforating the skin by any means, so services that do this fall outside the esthetician license.
- Estheticians may only exfoliate the stratum corneum; other exfoliation is permitted only with proper training.
- Credo blades and any implement used to remove skin, such as razors, are prohibited.
Sources
What Oklahoma's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Oklahoma's own statutes, board rules or board statements, read on October 27, 2026. Scope rules change and boards interpret them: confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer a treatment.
- The license and its scope
““Esthetician/Facialist/Facial Operator” means a person licensed by the Board to perform skin care,”
oklahoma.gov “(2) Services that puncture the skin or that are within the scope of practice of the healing arts are”
oklahoma.gov - Microneedling
“(C) Microneedling or “collagen induction treatment or therapy,” which is a procedure that uses a”
oklahoma.gov - Chemical peels
“(c) Cosmetologists and Facialists/Estheticians may only exfoliate stratum corneum cells.”
oklahoma.gov “and used at an ingredient concentration of thirty percent (30%) solution or less at final formulation, or”
oklahoma.gov - Laser and IPL
“(D) The use of laser treatments; ultrasound and high intensity focused ultrasound (“HIFU”)”
oklahoma.gov - Botox and fillers
“treatments; radiation; plasma pen; injections, including, but not limited to, injections performed”
oklahoma.gov - The board
“The Board of Cosmetology and Barbering licenses and regulates the profession of cosmetology, barbering, esthetics, manicuring, instructors and establishments where these services are performed.”
oklahoma.gov - Also good to know
“(1) For the purposes of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act (“Act”), “puncturing the skin” is defined as perforating the skin by any means, including, but not limited to:”
oklahoma.gov - Also good to know
“Credo blades or any implement used to remove skin such as razors, cheese graters and rasp are prohibited.”
oklahoma.gov
Questions
Oklahoma esthetician license, answered
What is the esthetician scope of practice in Oklahoma?
Plan the rest
Licensed, in scope, and ready to book clients
- The Oklahoma esthetician license: training hours, exams, fees and renewal
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Oklahoma: which license each needs
- Microblading and permanent makeup in Oklahoma: the license it needs
- Opening your own skin care studio in Oklahoma: the salon license
Esthetician scope in other states
Ready when you are
In scope? Fill the treatment room next
SalonAI plans the business side of a skin care practice in Oklahoma: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for longer treatments, intake and consent forms, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.