Washington hair braiding rules

Do you need a license to braid hair in Washington?

No license needed. Natural hair braiding needs no license in Washington, but braiding that involves cutting, dyes or chemical treatments falls outside that exemption and needs a Cosmetologist or Hair designer license. Below: locs (not stated), hair extensions and sew-ins (not stated) and wig installs (not stated), each answered from Washington's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.

Braiding
No license needed
Locs
Not stated
Extensions
Not stated
Wig installs
Not stated

Licensed by the Washington State Department of Licensing.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Hair braiding

Do you need a license to braid hair in Washington?

No license needed. Natural hair braiding needs no license in Washington, but braiding that involves cutting, dyes or chemical treatments falls outside that exemption and needs a Cosmetologist or Hair designer license.

License needed
No license needed
Licenses that allow it
Cosmetologist, Hair designer
Exemption
Natural hair braiding is exempt if it involves no hair cutting, dyes, reactive chemicals, or preparations that straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair.

Washington is one of 35 states whose official pages exempt hair braiding from licensing.

Locs

Do you need a license to do locs in Washington?

Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer them.

License needed
Not stated

Hair extensions and sew-ins

Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Washington?

Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether hair extensions and sew-ins need a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer them.

License needed
Not stated
Exemption
Extensions attached only by natural means may be used in natural hair braiding, which needs no license.

Wig installs

Do you need a license to install wigs in Washington?

Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer it.

License needed
Not stated

Good to know

What else Washington asks of braiders

  • Braiding that includes cutting, dyes or chemical treatments is outside the natural hair braiding exemption.
  • Operating a salon, shop or personal services business for cosmetology or hair design needs a DOL location license.
  • Hair design school training is set at 1,400 hours.

Sources

What Washington's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Washington's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Washington State Department of Licensing before you start charging for a service.

Hair braiding
“Nothing in chapter 18.16 RCW or 308-20 WAC prohibits or restricts the practice of natural hair braiding.”
app.leg.wa.gov
“(g) Hair styling including wet, dry, and thermal styling, braiding and styling aids for all hair and skin types;”
app.leg.wa.gov
“(e) Hair styling including wet, dry, and thermal styling, braiding and styling aids for all hair and skin types;”
app.leg.wa.gov
“Natural hair braiding does not include hair cutting, application of dyes, reactive chemicals or other preparations to alter the color of the hair or to straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair.”
app.leg.wa.gov
Hair extensions and sew-ins
“Natural hair braiding may involve the use of hair extensions when the extensions are attached only by natural means.”
app.leg.wa.gov
Also good to know
“Natural hair braiding does not include hair cutting, application of dyes, reactive chemicals or other preparations to alter the color of the hair or to straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair.”
app.leg.wa.gov
Also good to know
“No person shall operate a cosmetology, hair design, barbering, esthetics, master esthetics, or manicuring salon/shop, mobile unit, or personal services business in this state unless the business has qualified for and has in their possession a location license”
app.leg.wa.gov
Also good to know
“(ii) Hair design, 1,400 hours;”
app.leg.wa.gov

Questions

Washington hair braiding licenses, answered

Do you need a license to braid hair in Washington?
No license needed. Natural hair braiding needs no license in Washington, but braiding that involves cutting, dyes or chemical treatments falls outside that exemption and needs a Cosmetologist or Hair designer license. Hours and fees for each full license are on the Washington cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do locs in Washington?
Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer them.
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Washington?
Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether hair extensions and sew-ins need a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer them.
Do you need a license to install wigs in Washington?
Not stated. Washington's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask the Washington State Department of Licensing before you offer it.
What do you need to open a braiding salon in Washington?
The license your own work needs (above), and usually a license for the shop itself as a business, unless Washington exempts braiding entirely. See what Washington requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Braiding legally? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in Washington: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.