All 50 states and DC, from each state's own rules
Can you run a salon from home? Home and mobile salon rules in every state
47 states let you license a salon in your home, and in 4 states the official pages we read do not settle it. Mobile salons: 39 allowed, 3 not allowed, 9 not stated. Pick your state for what a home salon needs, mobile salon licensing and house calls, each answered from the state's own rules.
Read from the official sources on October 31, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)
- States that allow a salon in your home
- 47 of 51
- States that allow mobile salons
- 39
- Mobile salon license, state fee
- $40 to $355
Pick your state
Can you have a salon in your home in your state?
What a home salon needs, mobile salon licensing and house calls, each answered with the state's own words.
- AlabamaAllowed
- AlaskaAllowed
- ArizonaAllowed
- ArkansasAllowed
- CaliforniaAllowed
- ColoradoAllowed
- ConnecticutAllowed
- DelawareAllowed
- District of ColumbiaAllowed
- FloridaAllowed
- GeorgiaAllowed
- HawaiiNot stated
- IdahoAllowed
- IllinoisNot stated
- IndianaAllowed
- IowaAllowed
- KansasAllowed
- KentuckyAllowed
- LouisianaAllowed
- MaineAllowed
- MarylandAllowed
- MassachusettsAllowed
- MichiganAllowed
- MinnesotaAllowed
- MississippiAllowed
- MissouriAllowed
- MontanaAllowed
- NebraskaAllowed
- NevadaAllowed
- New HampshireAllowed
- New JerseyAllowed
- New MexicoAllowed
- New YorkAllowed
- North CarolinaAllowed
- North DakotaAllowed
- OhioAllowed
- OklahomaAllowed
- OregonAllowed
- PennsylvaniaAllowed
- Rhode IslandNot stated
- South CarolinaAllowed
- South DakotaAllowed
- TennesseeAllowed
- TexasAllowed
- UtahNot stated
- VermontAllowed
- VirginiaAllowed
- WashingtonAllowed
- West VirginiaAllowed
- WisconsinAllowed
- WyomingAllowed
Across the states
What the rules have in common
- Most states let you license a salon in your home. 47 states allow it on their official pages, and 4 states do not address it.
- The home salon is kept apart from the home. Of the states that allow one, 40 name an entrance or door rule (usually a separate entrance and no door left open into the living space) and 24 a restroom rule. The salon is licensed and inspected like any other.
- Your city has a say too. 17 states point home or salon owners to local zoning, building or city rules on their official pages; elsewhere it is still worth checking, since a home business is a local matter too.
- Mobile salons are licensed in 39 states. Each names the license it needs, with state fees from $40 (Florida) to $355 (Vermont). The rules they set most often: water tanks on board (22), no services while the vehicle moves (17) and a permanent base address (14). Georgia, North Carolina and North Dakota do not allow them.
Every state compared
Home salon, mobile salon and house-call rules, state by state
"Home salon rules" counts the specific rules the state sets for a salon in a residence. "House calls" says whether licensed services may be given away from a licensed salon. "Not stated" means the state's official pages we read did not settle it; it is not a yes or a no.
| State | Salon in your home | Home salon rules | Mobile salon | Mobile license fee | House calls |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | $200 | Allowed |
| Alaska | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | $260 | Allowed |
| Arizona | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | $110 | Allowed |
| Arkansas | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | $100 | Allowed |
| California | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | $100 | Allowed |
| Colorado | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Connecticut | Allowed | 1 | Not stated | - | Not stated |
| Delaware | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| District of Columbia | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | - | Not stated |
| Florida | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | $40 | Allowed |
| Georgia | Allowed | 4 | Not allowed | - | Not stated |
| Hawaii | Not stated | - | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| Idaho | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | $50 | Allowed |
| Illinois | Not stated | - | Allowed | $40 | Allowed |
| Indiana | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | $40 | Allowed |
| Iowa | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | $80 | Allowed |
| Kansas | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | $60 | Allowed |
| Kentucky | Allowed | 2 | Not stated | - | Not stated |
| Louisiana | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | $55 | Allowed |
| Maine | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Maryland | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | $225 | Allowed |
| Massachusetts | Allowed | 6 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Michigan | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Minnesota | Allowed | 6 | Allowed | $350 | Allowed |
| Mississippi | Allowed | 5 | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| Missouri | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Montana | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | $235 | Allowed |
| Nebraska | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | $150 | Allowed |
| Nevada | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | - | Salon only |
| New Hampshire | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| New Jersey | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| New Mexico | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| New York | Allowed | 2 | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| North Carolina | Allowed | 3 | Not allowed | - | Allowed |
| North Dakota | Allowed | 5 | Not allowed | - | Allowed |
| Ohio | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | $85 | Allowed |
| Oklahoma | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Oregon | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | $140 | Allowed |
| Pennsylvania | Allowed | 1 | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| Rhode Island | Not stated | - | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| South Carolina | Allowed | 5 | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| South Dakota | Allowed | 5 | Not stated | - | Allowed |
| Tennessee | Allowed | 3 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Texas | Allowed | 5 | Allowed | $78 | Allowed |
| Utah | Not stated | - | Allowed | - | Not stated |
| Vermont | Allowed | 0 | Allowed | $355 | Allowed |
| Virginia | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | $220 | Allowed |
| Washington | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | $121 | Allowed |
| West Virginia | Allowed | 2 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Wisconsin | Allowed | 1 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
| Wyoming | Allowed | 4 | Allowed | - | Allowed |
Method
How we checked each state
- Official sources only. For each state we read its cosmetology and barbering establishment rules (salons in a residence, mobile units), its board's license pages and applications, and its statutes. Schools, trade groups and other guides were not used as sources.
- Every answer carries the state's own words. Each answer and each requirement is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page before the page was published.
- "Not stated" is honest. Where the pages we read do not mention a home or a vehicle, the state reads "Not stated" rather than a guess. Ask the board.
- Local rules apply too. A home business also answers to your city or county (zoning, a home occupation permit). These are the states' own rules as published on October 31, 2026; confirm with your board before you open.
Questions
Home and mobile salons, answered
Can you have a salon in your home?
What are the usual home salon requirements?
Do you need a license for a mobile salon?
Can you do hair or nails at a client's home instead?
Where do these answers come from?
Ready when you are
Licensed at home? Fill the book next
A home or mobile salon has no street sign, so clients find you online. SalonAI plans the business side: a website clients book from in one tap, deposits, reminders with directions or arrival notes, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.