All 50 states and DC, from each state's own rules

Do you need a license to do makeup? Every state's rules

33 states put makeup for pay under a license (3 of them through a shorter makeup license or registration), 12 states let you do makeup with no license, and in 6 states the official pages we read do not settle it. Pick your state for makeup for pay, weddings and house calls, theater and film, and cosmetics counters, each answered from the state's own statutes, rules or board pages.

Read from the official sources on October 30, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)

States that license makeup for pay
33 of 51
States where makeup needs no license
12
States that allow licensed work away from a salon
45

Across the states

What the rules have in common

  • Most states treat makeup for pay as licensed work. 33 states name makeup or cosmetics in a licensed practice (usually cosmetology or esthetics) on their official pages, while 12 states exempt it; 6 states do not settle it.
  • 3 states have a shorter path. Kentucky, Ohio and Oklahoma offer a shorter license or registration that covers makeup, instead of the full cosmetology or esthetics license.
  • Theater, film and photo shoots are the most common exemption. 25 states exempt makeup for theater, film, television or similar productions on their official pages, 16 states say it still needs a license, and 10 states do not address it. Bridal and event makeup is not covered by these exemptions.
  • Cosmetics counters are often exempt. In 34 states applying makeup to demonstrate or sell cosmetics needs no license; 6 states say it does; 11 states do not say. The exemptions usually end when the client pays for the application itself.
  • Weddings and house calls depend on the state. 45 states allow licensed work away from a salon, often only for special events, photo shoots or clients who cannot travel, sometimes booked through a licensed salon or with a permit; 1 state keeps licensed work inside licensed establishments; 5 states do not address it on the pages we read.

Every state compared

Makeup artist rules, state by state

"Makeup license" is a shorter license or registration that covers makeup (a makeup artistry permit, for example); "full license" means a cosmetology, esthetics or similar license. "Weddings and house calls" says whether licensed work may be done away from a licensed salon. "Not stated" means the state's official pages we read did not settle it; it is not a yes or a no.

Makeup artist license rules by state: makeup for pay, work outside a salon, theater and film, cosmetics counters
StateMakeup for payWeddings and house callsTheater and filmCosmetics counterShorter makeup license
AlabamaFull licenseAllowedNot statedNo license neededNone
AlaskaFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNot statedNone
ArizonaNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
ArkansasFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
CaliforniaFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
ColoradoNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
ConnecticutFull licenseNot statedLicense neededLicense neededNone
DelawareFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
District of ColumbiaNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNone
FloridaNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
GeorgiaFull licenseNot statedNo license neededNo license neededNone
HawaiiFull licenseAllowedNot statedNot statedNone
IdahoNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
IllinoisFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
IndianaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNot statedNone
IowaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
KansasFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
KentuckyMakeup licenseNot statedLicense neededNot statedMakeup Artistry Permit, 3 h
LouisianaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededLicense neededNone
MaineFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
MarylandFull licenseAllowedNot statedNot statedNone
MassachusettsNot statedAllowedNot statedNot statedNone
MichiganFull licenseAllowedNot statedNot statedNone
MinnesotaNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
MississippiNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
MissouriNot statedAllowedNot statedNo license neededNone
MontanaNot statedAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
NebraskaNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
NevadaNo license neededSalon onlyNo license neededNo license neededNone
New HampshireFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
New JerseyFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
New MexicoFull licenseAllowedNot statedLicense neededNone
New YorkFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
North CarolinaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededLicense neededNone
North DakotaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
OhioMakeup licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededBoutique Services Registration
OklahomaMakeup licenseAllowedNo license neededLicense neededMakeup Artist Certificate, 8 h
OregonFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
PennsylvaniaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNot statedNone
Rhode IslandFull licenseAllowedLicense neededLicense neededNone
South CarolinaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
South DakotaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNo license neededNone
TennesseeNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
TexasNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
UtahNot statedNot statedNot statedNo license neededNone
VermontFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
VirginiaNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
WashingtonNot statedAllowedNot statedNot statedNone
West VirginiaFull licenseAllowedLicense neededNot statedNone
WisconsinFull licenseAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone
WyomingNo license neededAllowedNo license neededNo license neededNone

Method

How we checked each state

  • Official sources only. For each state we read its cosmetology and esthetics practice acts and rules (the definitions of each licensed practice and the list of exemptions), its rules on services outside a licensed establishment, and its board's pages. Makeup schools, trade groups and other guides were not used as sources.
  • Every answer carries the state's own words. Each answer is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page before the page was published. Each state's page shows those quotes.
  • "Not stated" is honest. Where the pages we read do not name makeup or cosmetics (cosmetics counters most often), the state reads "Not stated" rather than a guess, even where a general definition such as "beautifying the face" might reach it. Ask the board.
  • Rules change. These are the states' own rules as published on October 30, 2026. Confirm with your board before you start charging for makeup or booking work on location.

Questions

Makeup artist licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do makeup?
In most places, yes, if you are paid for it. 33 states name makeup in a licensed practice such as cosmetology or esthetics, 12 states exempt it and 6 states do not settle it. Pick your state above for its own words.
Which states have a makeup artist license?
Kentucky, Ohio and Oklahoma have a shorter license or registration that covers makeup, on the official pages we read. Elsewhere makeup falls under a cosmetology or esthetics license, or needs none.
Can a makeup artist work at weddings and in clients' homes?
45 states allow licensed work away from a salon, often only for special events or clients who cannot travel, and 1 state keeps it inside licensed establishments. Conditions vary, so read your state's page before you book on location.
Do you need a license to do makeup for film, theater or photo shoots?
In many states, no: 25 states exempt makeup for theater, film, television or similar productions, 16 states put it under a license and 10 states do not address it. The exemptions cover productions, not brides or private clients.
Do you need a license to apply makeup at a cosmetics counter?
In 34 states demonstrating or selling cosmetics needs no license on the official pages; 11 states do not say. Charging for the application itself usually brings back the license requirement.
Where do these answers come from?
From each state's own statutes, administrative rules and board pages, read on October 30, 2026, never from makeup schools, trade groups or other guides. Each answer carries the official page and the state's own words, and a script confirmed each quote is on that page. Rules change: confirm with your state board before you start.

Ready when you are

Licensed and booked? Fill the calendar next

SalonAI plans the business side of a makeup artistry practice: a website with your portfolio and packages where clients check your date and book, deposits, trials and travel fees for weddings, inquiries answered fast, your Google profile and Instagram, and reviews. Founden builds and runs it while you work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.