All 50 states and DC, from each board's own rules

Cosmetology license renewal and CE, state by state

Every beauty license has to be renewed, and the rules change at the state line. 15 states require continuing education to renew a cosmetology license, while 7 states say none is needed. The typical on-time renewal fee is $60. Pick your state for when your cosmetology, barber, esthetician or nail tech license expires, what renewal costs, the CE hours and topics, and what to do if it has lapsed, each in the board's own words.

Read from the official sources on October 28, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)

States that require CE to renew a cosmetology license
15 of 51
States whose board says no CE is required
7
Typical cosmetology renewal fee
$60

Across the states

What the renewal rules have in common

  • Continuing education is a split. For a cosmetology license, 15 states require it to renew (typically 6 hours per renewal), 7 states say none is required, and the pages we read do not settle it in 29 states.
  • The most CE. North Carolina (24 hours), Illinois (14 hours) and Florida (10 hours) ask the most continuing education per cosmetology renewal.
  • Most licenses renew every 2 years. 41 states renew every 2 years, 5 states renew every year, 2 states renew every 3 years and 2 states renew every 4 years.
  • Renewal costs differ several times over. Per year of license, cosmetology renewal runs from $5.50 in Wisconsin to $90 in Alaska; the middle state charges $32.50 a year.
  • Barbers often follow a different board. 9 states require continuing education to renew a barber license and 8 states say none is required; barber renewal fees are typically $65.
  • Lapsed licenses get harder to restore with time. 50 states spell out what an expired cosmetology license must do; in many, after a few years you must reapply or retake the exam rather than simply pay a late fee.

Every state compared

Renewal and continuing education, state by state

The cosmetology license's renewal period and on-time fee, and the continuing education each of the four licenses needs per renewal. "Not stated" means the official pages we read did not settle it; each state's page has the late fees, the expired-license rules and the board's own words.

Cosmetology license renewal and continuing education by state
StateCosmetology renewsRenewal feeCosmetology CEBarber CENail tech CEEsthetics CE
AlabamaEvery 2 years$100Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
AlaskaEvery 2 years$180Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
ArizonaEvery 2 years$60Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
ArkansasEvery 2 years$50Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
CaliforniaEvery 2 years$50None requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
ColoradoNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
ConnecticutEvery 2 years$100Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
DelawareEvery 2 yearsNot statedNone requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
District of ColumbiaEvery 2 years$1106 hours6 hours6 hours6 hours
FloridaEvery 2 years$4510 hours2 hours10 hours10 hours
GeorgiaEvery 2 yearsNot stated5 hours5 hours5 hours5 hours
HawaiiEvery 2 years$146None requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
IdahoEvery 2 years$60Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
IllinoisEvery 2 yearsNot stated14 hours1 hour10 hours10 hours
IndianaEvery 4 years$40Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
IowaEvery 2 years$606 hours6 hours6 hours6 hours
KansasEvery 2 years$50Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
KentuckyEvery 2 years$100Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
LouisianaEvery year$35Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MaineEvery year$20Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MarylandEvery 2 years$286 hoursNone required6 hours6 hours
MassachusettsEvery 2 years$68Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MichiganEvery 2 years$48Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MinnesotaEvery 3 years$1158 hoursNot stated8 hours8 hours
MississippiEvery 2 years$50Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MissouriEvery 2 years$60Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MontanaEvery 2 years$100None requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
NebraskaEvery 2 yearsNot stated8 hoursNot stated8 hours8 hours
NevadaEvery 2 years$704 hoursNot stated4 hours4 hours
New HampshireEvery 2 years$55Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
New JerseyEvery 2 years$90Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
New MexicoEvery 2 years$100RequiredRequiredRequiredRequired
New YorkEvery 4 years$40Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
North CarolinaEvery 3 years$3924 hoursNot stated8 hours8 hours
North DakotaEvery year$504 hours6 hours4 hours4 hours
OhioEvery 2 years$654 hours4 hours4 hours4 hours
OklahomaEvery 2 years$80Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
OregonEvery 2 years$65Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
PennsylvaniaEvery 2 years$97None requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
Rhode IslandEvery 2 years$25Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
South CarolinaEvery 2 years$524 hoursNot stated4 hours4 hours
South DakotaEvery year$45None requiredNot statedNone requiredNone required
TennesseeEvery 2 years$60Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
TexasEvery 2 years$504 hours4 hoursNot statedNot stated
UtahEvery 2 years$52Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
VermontEvery 2 years$155Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
VirginiaEvery 2 years$120Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
WashingtonEvery 2 years$66Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
West VirginiaEvery year$35None requiredNone requiredNone requiredNone required
WisconsinEvery 2 years$11Not statedNone requiredNone requiredNone required
WyomingEvery 2 years$96Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Method

How we checked each state

  • Official sources only. For each state we read the board's renewal and continuing education pages, its fee schedule, its FAQs, and the statute and rules on expiration, late renewal, lapsed licenses and continuing education. Schools, continuing education providers and other guides were not used as sources.
  • Every answer carries the board's own words. Each fact is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page and that every fee and hour count appears in its quote before the page was published. Each state's page shows those quotes.
  • No continuing education means the board says so. A license counts as needing no CE only where an official page says none is required. Where the pages we read are silent, the answer is "Not stated", never a guess.
  • Not legal advice. These are the boards' own rules and fees as published on October 28, 2026. Fees and deadlines change: confirm with your board before you renew.

Questions

License renewal, answered

How often do you have to renew a cosmetology license?
It depends on the state. 41 states renew every 2 years, 5 states renew every year, 2 states renew every 3 years and 2 states renew every 4 years. Pick your state above for its expiration date rule.
Do you need continuing education to renew a cosmetology license?
In 15 states, yes: DC, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina and Texas. In 7 states the board says none is required (California, Delaware, Hawaii, Montana, Pennsylvania, South Dakota and West Virginia). In 29 states the pages we read do not settle it; ask your board.
How much does it cost to renew a cosmetology license?
The typical on-time renewal fee is $60, or $32.50 per year of license once longer renewal periods are evened out. Late renewal usually adds a penalty; each state's page has its exact fees.
What happens if my cosmetology license expires?
You may not work on an expired license. Most boards let you renew late for a penalty within a set window; after that many require you to reapply, show new training or retake the exam. Each state's page says how long that window is where the board states it.
Is barber, esthetician and nail tech renewal the same as cosmetology?
Often, but not always. Where one board licenses all four, the fees and continuing education are usually the same; where barbers have their own board, their renewal cycle, fee and CE can differ. Each state's page answers every license separately.
Where do these answers come from?
From each state's own board pages, fee schedules, statutes and rules, read on October 28, 2026, never from schools or continuing education providers. Each answer carries the official page and the board's own words, and a script confirmed each quote is on that page and each number is in its quote. Rules and fees change: confirm with your board before you renew.

Ready when you are

Renewed? Keep the chair booked

SalonAI plans the business side of an independent beauty career: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Cosmetology License Renewal and CE Requirements by State (2026) | SalonAI