Idaho license renewal and continuing education
How to renew a cosmetology license in Idaho
What it takes to renew a cosmetology, barber, nail technician or esthetician license in Idaho: when each expires, the renewal fee, the continuing education it needs, and what to do if you renew late or the license has lapsed. Every answer comes from the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026.
| License | Continuing education | Fee | Renews | Late fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetologist | Not stated | $60 | Every 2 years | See the rule |
| Barber | Not stated | $60 | Every 2 years | See the rule |
| Nail technician | Not stated | $60 | Every 2 years | See the rule |
| Esthetician | Not stated | $60 | Every 2 years | See the rule |
Renew on the board's site Check your license status The board's own words
At $30 a year, renewing costs about the $32.50 a year typical across the states.
Cosmetologist
Idaho cosmetology license renewal
Renewed through the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.
- When it expires
- Every 2 yearsOn the licensee's birthday; the Division is phasing in this date and the two-year cycle starting July 1, 2026.
- Renewal fee
- $60 ($30 a year)
- Continuing education
- Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board before you renew.
- Late renewal
- See the ruleA license not renewed on or before its expiration date is canceled immediately after that date.
- If it has expired
- See the ruleA license canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated within five years of its expiration date, after renewal documentation is submitted and fees are paid; a reinstatement fee of $35 may be required.
Barber
Idaho barber license renewal
Renewed through the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.
- When it expires
- Every 2 yearsOn the licensee's birthday; the Division is phasing in this date and the two-year cycle starting July 1, 2026.
- Renewal fee
- $60 ($30 a year)
- Continuing education
- Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board before you renew.
- Late renewal
- See the ruleA license not renewed on or before its expiration date is canceled immediately after that date.
- If it has expired
- See the ruleA license canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated within five years of its expiration date, after renewal documentation is submitted and fees are paid; a reinstatement fee of $35 may be required.
Nail technician
Idaho nail technician license renewal
Renewed through the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.
- When it expires
- Every 2 yearsOn the licensee's birthday; the Division is phasing in this date and the two-year cycle starting July 1, 2026.
- Renewal fee
- $60 ($30 a year)
- Continuing education
- Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board before you renew.
- Late renewal
- See the ruleA license not renewed on or before its expiration date is canceled immediately after that date.
- If it has expired
- See the ruleA license canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated within five years of its expiration date, after renewal documentation is submitted and fees are paid; a reinstatement fee of $35 may be required.
Esthetician
Idaho esthetician license renewal
Renewed through the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.
- When it expires
- Every 2 yearsOn the licensee's birthday; the Division is phasing in this date and the two-year cycle starting July 1, 2026.
- Renewal fee
- $60 ($30 a year)
- Continuing education
- Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board before you renew.
- Late renewal
- See the ruleA license not renewed on or before its expiration date is canceled immediately after that date.
- If it has expired
- See the ruleA license canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated within five years of its expiration date, after renewal documentation is submitted and fees are paid; a reinstatement fee of $35 may be required.
Good to know
What else Idaho says about renewing
- Licenses expire unless renewed in the manner the board prescribes.
- Licenses may be renewed up to six weeks before the expiration date.
- Renewal and reinstatement fees cannot be waived, prorated, transferred, or refunded unless a law or rule says otherwise.
Sources
What Idaho's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026. Fees and deadlines change: confirm with the board before you renew.
- Cosmetologist: renewal period
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov “Also beginning July 1, 2026, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) will continue transitioning to a 2-year renewal cycle.”
dopl.idaho.gov “licenses within this board will ultimately expire on the original issue date of that license (if issued for a business) or on the licensee’s birthday (if issued for an individual).”
dopl.idaho.gov - Cosmetologist: renewal fee
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician $60 $90 $30 $60”
dopl.idaho.gov - Cosmetologist: late renewal
“If a license, registration, certificate, or authority is not renewed on or before the expiration date, it shall be immediately canceled by the division following the date of expiration”
legislature.idaho.gov - Cosmetologist: expired license
“Within five (5) years of the date of expiration, the division may reinstate a license or registration canceled for failure to renew”
legislature.idaho.gov “The division may also require payment of a reinstatement fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)”
legislature.idaho.gov - Barber: renewal period
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov “Also beginning July 1, 2026, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) will continue transitioning to a 2-year renewal cycle.”
dopl.idaho.gov “licenses within this board will ultimately expire on the original issue date of that license (if issued for a business) or on the licensee’s birthday (if issued for an individual).”
dopl.idaho.gov - Barber: renewal fee
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician $60 $90 $30 $60”
dopl.idaho.gov - Barber: late renewal
“If a license, registration, certificate, or authority is not renewed on or before the expiration date, it shall be immediately canceled by the division following the date of expiration”
legislature.idaho.gov - Barber: expired license
“Within five (5) years of the date of expiration, the division may reinstate a license or registration canceled for failure to renew”
legislature.idaho.gov “The division may also require payment of a reinstatement fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)”
legislature.idaho.gov - Nail technician: renewal period
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov “Also beginning July 1, 2026, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) will continue transitioning to a 2-year renewal cycle.”
dopl.idaho.gov “licenses within this board will ultimately expire on the original issue date of that license (if issued for a business) or on the licensee’s birthday (if issued for an individual).”
dopl.idaho.gov - Nail technician: renewal fee
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician $60 $90 $30 $60”
dopl.idaho.gov - Nail technician: late renewal
“If a license, registration, certificate, or authority is not renewed on or before the expiration date, it shall be immediately canceled by the division following the date of expiration”
legislature.idaho.gov - Nail technician: expired license
“Within five (5) years of the date of expiration, the division may reinstate a license or registration canceled for failure to renew”
legislature.idaho.gov “The division may also require payment of a reinstatement fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)”
legislature.idaho.gov - Esthetician: renewal period
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov “Also beginning July 1, 2026, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) will continue transitioning to a 2-year renewal cycle.”
dopl.idaho.gov “licenses within this board will ultimately expire on the original issue date of that license (if issued for a business) or on the licensee’s birthday (if issued for an individual).”
dopl.idaho.gov - Esthetician: renewal fee
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician $60 $90 $30 $60”
dopl.idaho.gov - Esthetician: late renewal
“If a license, registration, certificate, or authority is not renewed on or before the expiration date, it shall be immediately canceled by the division following the date of expiration”
legislature.idaho.gov - Esthetician: expired license
“Within five (5) years of the date of expiration, the division may reinstate a license or registration canceled for failure to renew”
legislature.idaho.gov “The division may also require payment of a reinstatement fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)”
legislature.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal and shall expire unless renewed in the manner prescribed by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“Licenses or registrations may be renewed up to six (6) weeks prior to the expiration date.”
legislature.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“Fees for renewal and reinstatement cannot be waived, prorated, transferred, or refunded unless otherwise specified in law or rule.”
legislature.idaho.gov
Questions
Idaho license renewal, answered
How do I renew my cosmetology license in Idaho?
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew an Idaho cosmetology license?
What happens if my Idaho cosmetology license expires?
How do I renew my barber license in Idaho?
What happens if my Idaho barber license expires?
How do I renew my nail technician license in Idaho?
What happens if my Idaho nail technician license expires?
How do I renew my esthetician license in Idaho?
What happens if my Idaho esthetician license expires?
Plan the rest
Licensed, renewed, and fully booked
- Getting a first license in Idaho: training hours, exams and fees
- What a licensed esthetician may do in Idaho
- Running your own salon in Idaho: the salon license
- What Idaho inspectors check in a salon
License renewal in other states
Ready when you are
Renewed? Keep the chair booked
SalonAI plans the business side of an independent beauty career in Idaho: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.