South Dakota license renewal and continuing education

How to renew a cosmetology license in South Dakota

What it takes to renew a cosmetology, barber, nail technician or esthetician license in South Dakota: when each expires, the renewal fee, the continuing education it needs, and what to do if you renew late or the license has lapsed. Every answer comes from the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026.

South Dakota license renewal at a glance
LicenseContinuing educationFeeRenewsLate fee
CosmetologistNone required$45Every year$30
BarberNot stated$200Every year$30
Nail technicianNone required$45Every year$30
EstheticianNone required$45Every year$30

Renew on the board's site Check your license status The board's own words

At $45 a year, renewing costs more than the $32.50 a year typical across the states; it is one of 7 states whose board says no continuing education is required.

Cosmetologist

South Dakota cosmetology license renewal

Renewed through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission.

When it expires
Every yearOn the licensee's birth date each year.
Renewal fee
$45
Continuing education
None requiredThe Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
Late renewal
$30A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).

Barber (Registered Barber)

South Dakota barber license renewal

Renewed through the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners.

When it expires
Every yearRenewal is due by May 31 each year, and a certificate not renewed expires June 1.
Renewal fee
$200
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners before you renew.
Late renewal
$30Restoring an expired barber certificate costs a $30 restoration fee, plus a $25 penalty for each expired year, plus the annual renewal fee.
If it has expired
See the ruleA certificate lapsed less than three years can be reinstated by paying the lapsed license fees. After three or more years, the barber must re-take the practical and written exams.

Nail technician

South Dakota nail technician license renewal

Renewed through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission.

When it expires
Every yearOn the licensee's birth date each year.
Renewal fee
$45
Continuing education
None requiredThe Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
Late renewal
$30A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).

Esthetician

South Dakota esthetician license renewal

Renewed through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission.

When it expires
Every yearOn the licensee's birth date each year.
Renewal fee
$45
Continuing education
None requiredThe Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
Late renewal
$30A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).

Good to know

What else South Dakota says about renewing

  • Cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician licensees renew online by logging in; mail and check payment options are also listed.
  • A licensee who has met the renewal requirements may keep practicing while the renewed license is pending.
  • Barber and barbershop licenses are renewed each year by May 31 on the board's renewal form.

Sources

What South Dakota's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026. Fees and deadlines change: confirm with the board before you renew.

Cosmetologist: renewal period
“The annual license renewal dates are as follows:”
sdlegislature.gov
“Cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician and instructor licenses are due for renewal on or before the licensee's birth date.”
dlr.sd.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal fee
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45; for instructor license renewal, it is $45.”
dlr.sd.gov
Cosmetologist: continuing education
“It is also required for any licensee who wishes to provide microdermabrasion, eye lash extensions, or electric nail filing services.”
dlr.sd.gov
“A licensee shall successfully complete a minimum of 16 educational hours before operating a microdermabrasion machine.”
sdlegislature.gov
“A licensee must successfully complete a minimum of eight educational hours before operating an electric nail file.”
sdlegislature.gov
“the Commission has decided to not implement continuing education at this time as a requirement to renew a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Continuing education is required to renew instructor licenses.”
dlr.sd.gov
Cosmetologist: late renewal
“If postmarked or paid after the birth date, a $30 penalty fee is charged.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If any license is lapsed for longer than 60 days, the licensee is subject to disciplinary action.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Any license that is not renewed pursuant to the requirements of this section shall lapse.”
sdlegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: expired license
“If your license expired less than five years ago , you must pay the renewal fee for each year it was expired and a $30 penalty fee for each year it was expired.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If your license expired more than five years ago , you must pay the renewal and penalty fees described above and take the state board examinations (theory and state laws/rules exams).”
dlr.sd.gov
Barber: renewal period
“Each registered barber who continues in active practice shall annually, on or before May thirty-first, renew the barber's certificate of registration and pay the required fee.”
sdlegislature.gov
“Each certificate of registration, unless renewed, expires on June first.”
sdlegislature.gov
Barber: renewal fee
“For the annual renewal of a certificate of registration to practice barbering, the fee is two hundred dollars.”
sdlegislature.gov
Barber: late renewal
“For the restoration of an expired certificate, the fee is thirty dollars, plus a twenty-five dollar penalty for each expired year, plus the annual license renewal fee.”
sdlegislature.gov
Barber: expired license
“If you have let your license lapse for less than three years, you may reinstate it by paying the lapsed license fees. If you have let your license lapse for three or more years, you must re-take the practical and written exams.”
dlr.sd.gov
Nail technician: renewal period
“The annual license renewal dates are as follows:”
sdlegislature.gov
“Cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician and instructor licenses are due for renewal on or before the licensee's birth date.”
dlr.sd.gov
Nail technician: renewal fee
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45; for instructor license renewal, it is $45.”
dlr.sd.gov
Nail technician: continuing education
“A licensee must successfully complete a minimum of eight educational hours before operating an electric nail file.”
sdlegislature.gov
“the Commission has decided to not implement continuing education at this time as a requirement to renew a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Continuing education is required to renew instructor licenses.”
dlr.sd.gov
Nail technician: late renewal
“If postmarked or paid after the birth date, a $30 penalty fee is charged.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If any license is lapsed for longer than 60 days, the licensee is subject to disciplinary action.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Any license that is not renewed pursuant to the requirements of this section shall lapse.”
sdlegislature.gov
Nail technician: expired license
“If your license expired less than five years ago , you must pay the renewal fee for each year it was expired and a $30 penalty fee for each year it was expired.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If your license expired more than five years ago , you must pay the renewal and penalty fees described above and take the state board examinations (theory and state laws/rules exams).”
dlr.sd.gov
Esthetician: renewal period
“The annual license renewal dates are as follows:”
sdlegislature.gov
“Cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician and instructor licenses are due for renewal on or before the licensee's birth date.”
dlr.sd.gov
Esthetician: renewal fee
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45; for instructor license renewal, it is $45.”
dlr.sd.gov
Esthetician: continuing education
“A licensee shall successfully complete a minimum of 16 educational hours before operating a microdermabrasion machine.”
sdlegislature.gov
“the Commission has decided to not implement continuing education at this time as a requirement to renew a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Continuing education is required to renew instructor licenses.”
dlr.sd.gov
Esthetician: late renewal
“If postmarked or paid after the birth date, a $30 penalty fee is charged.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If any license is lapsed for longer than 60 days, the licensee is subject to disciplinary action.”
dlr.sd.gov
“Any license that is not renewed pursuant to the requirements of this section shall lapse.”
sdlegislature.gov
Esthetician: expired license
“If your license expired less than five years ago , you must pay the renewal fee for each year it was expired and a $30 penalty fee for each year it was expired.”
dlr.sd.gov
“If your license expired more than five years ago , you must pay the renewal and penalty fees described above and take the state board examinations (theory and state laws/rules exams).”
dlr.sd.gov
Also good to know
“Log in to renew your license online.”
dlr.sd.gov
Also good to know
“If a licensee has met the requirements of this section, the licensee may continue to practice pending issuance of the renewed license.”
sdlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“All barber and barbershop licenses must be renewed each year by May 31. Use the appropriate renewal form available from our Forms web page.”
dlr.sd.gov

Questions

South Dakota license renewal, answered

How do I renew my cosmetology license in South Dakota?
The South Dakota Cosmetologist License renews every year for $45, through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. When it expires: On the licensee's birth date each year. No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Dakota cosmetology license?
No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
What happens if my South Dakota cosmetology license expires?
A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action. A license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).
How do I renew my barber license in South Dakota?
The South Dakota Registered Barber license renews every year for $200, through the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners. When it expires: Renewal is due by May 31 each year, and a certificate not renewed expires June 1. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
What happens if my South Dakota barber license expires?
Restoring an expired barber certificate costs a $30 restoration fee, plus a $25 penalty for each expired year, plus the annual renewal fee. A certificate lapsed less than three years can be reinstated by paying the lapsed license fees. After three or more years, the barber must re-take the practical and written exams.
How do I renew my nail technician license in South Dakota?
The South Dakota Nail Technician License renews every year for $45, through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. When it expires: On the licensee's birth date each year. No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Dakota nail technician license?
No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
What happens if my South Dakota nail technician license expires?
A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action. A license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).
How do I renew my esthetician license in South Dakota?
The South Dakota Esthetician License renews every year for $45, through the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. When it expires: On the licensee's birth date each year. No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Dakota esthetician license?
No continuing education is required to renew it: the Commission decided not to require continuing education to renew this license; the renewal page names CE only for instructor licenses.
What happens if my South Dakota esthetician license expires?
A renewal postmarked or paid after the birth date adds a $30 penalty fee, and a license not renewed by its date lapses; a license lapsed longer than 60 days makes the licensee subject to disciplinary action. A license expired less than five years can be renewed by paying the renewal fee and a $30 penalty for each year it was expired. After more than five years, the licensee must also pass the state board examinations (theory and state laws and rules).

Ready when you are

Renewed? Keep the chair booked

SalonAI plans the business side of an independent beauty career in South Dakota: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

South Dakota Cosmetology License Renewal: Fees and CE Hours | SalonAI