Oregon license renewal and continuing education

How to renew a cosmetology license in Oregon

What it takes to renew a cosmetology, barber, nail technician or esthetician license in Oregon: when each expires, the renewal fee, the continuing education it needs, and what to do if you renew late or the license has lapsed. Every answer comes from the Oregon Health Licensing Office's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026.

Oregon license renewal at a glance
LicenseContinuing educationFeeRenewsLate fee
CosmetologistNot stated$65Every 2 years$50
BarberNot stated$65Every 2 years$50
Nail technicianNot stated$65Every 2 years$50
EstheticianNot stated$65Every 2 years$50

Renew on the board's site Check your license status The board's own words

At $32.50 a year, renewing costs about the $32.50 a year typical across the states.

Cosmetologist (Hair Design)

Oregon cosmetology license renewal

Renewed through the Oregon Health Licensing Office.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsOn the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.
Renewal fee
$65 ($32.50 a year)
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before you renew.
Late renewal
$50A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status.
If it has expired
See the ruleA certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.

Barber

Oregon barber license renewal

Renewed through the Oregon Health Licensing Office.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsOn the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.
Renewal fee
$65 ($32.50 a year)
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before you renew.
Late renewal
$50A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status.
If it has expired
See the ruleA certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.

Nail technician (Nail Technologist)

Oregon nail technician license renewal

Renewed through the Oregon Health Licensing Office.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsOn the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.
Renewal fee
$65 ($32.50 a year)
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before you renew.
Late renewal
$50A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status.
If it has expired
See the ruleA certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.

Esthetician

Oregon esthetician license renewal

Renewed through the Oregon Health Licensing Office.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsOn the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.
Renewal fee
$65 ($32.50 a year)
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before you renew.
Late renewal
$50A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status.
If it has expired
See the ruleA certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.

Good to know

What else Oregon says about renewing

  • A certificate may be inactive for up to three years, and renewal is still possible during that time.
  • Practicing on an inactive certificate is a violation.
  • Renewing a field of practice certificate requires current bloodborne pathogens training.

Sources

What Oregon's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of the Oregon Health Licensing Office's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026. Fees and deadlines change: confirm with the board before you renew.

Cosmetologist: renewal period
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal fee
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years. Fee applies to each two-year renewal cycle even while in inactive status for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Cosmetologist: late renewal
“(A) Delinquency fee: $50 for each year in inactive status up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“(c) Payment of delinquency and authorization fees pursuant to OAR 817-040-0003.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“An authorization, with the exception of independent contractor registration or freelance license may be inactive for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Cosmetologist: expired license
“Practitioners whose certificate is inactive for three years or more must take and pass both the practical and written examinations (within two years of reapplication), reapply for certification and pay all application, examination and certification renewal fees.”
oregon.gov
Barber: renewal period
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov
Barber: renewal fee
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years. Fee applies to each two-year renewal cycle even while in inactive status for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Barber: late renewal
“(A) Delinquency fee: $50 for each year in inactive status up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“(c) Payment of delinquency and authorization fees pursuant to OAR 817-040-0003.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“An authorization, with the exception of independent contractor registration or freelance license may be inactive for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Barber: expired license
“Practitioners whose certificate is inactive for three years or more must take and pass both the practical and written examinations (within two years of reapplication), reapply for certification and pay all application, examination and certification renewal fees.”
oregon.gov
Nail technician: renewal period
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov
Nail technician: renewal fee
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years. Fee applies to each two-year renewal cycle even while in inactive status for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Nail technician: late renewal
“(A) Delinquency fee: $50 for each year in inactive status up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“(c) Payment of delinquency and authorization fees pursuant to OAR 817-040-0003.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“An authorization, with the exception of independent contractor registration or freelance license may be inactive for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Nail technician: expired license
“Practitioners whose certificate is inactive for three years or more must take and pass both the practical and written examinations (within two years of reapplication), reapply for certification and pay all application, examination and certification renewal fees.”
oregon.gov
Esthetician: renewal period
“Application for certification renewal should be made in advance of the certification inactive date, which is the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance.”
oregon.gov
Esthetician: renewal fee
“(A) Practitioner certificate: $65 for two years. Fee applies to each two-year renewal cycle even while in inactive status for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Esthetician: late renewal
“(A) Delinquency fee: $50 for each year in inactive status up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“(c) Payment of delinquency and authorization fees pursuant to OAR 817-040-0003.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“An authorization, with the exception of independent contractor registration or freelance license may be inactive for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Esthetician: expired license
“Practitioners whose certificate is inactive for three years or more must take and pass both the practical and written examinations (within two years of reapplication), reapply for certification and pay all application, examination and certification renewal fees.”
oregon.gov
Also good to know
“An authorization, with the exception of independent contractor registration or freelance license may be inactive for up to three years.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Also good to know
“Practitioners in inactive status who provide services to the public are in violation.”
oregon.gov
Also good to know
“All Oregon cosmetology certification holders renewing a field of practice (hair design, barbering, esthetics, nail technology, or natural hair care) on or after July 1, 2025, must complete and maintain current bloodborne pathogens (BBP) training.”
oregon.gov

Questions

Oregon license renewal, answered

How do I renew my cosmetology license in Oregon?
The Oregon Hair Design license renews every 2 years for $65, through the Oregon Health Licensing Office. When it expires: On the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew an Oregon cosmetology license?
The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before your renewal date.
What happens if my Oregon cosmetology license expires?
A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status. A certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.
How do I renew my barber license in Oregon?
The Oregon Barber license renews every 2 years for $65, through the Oregon Health Licensing Office. When it expires: On the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
What happens if my Oregon barber license expires?
A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status. A certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.
How do I renew my nail technician license in Oregon?
The Oregon Nail Technologist license renews every 2 years for $65, through the Oregon Health Licensing Office. When it expires: On the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
What happens if my Oregon nail technician license expires?
A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status. A certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.
How do I renew my esthetician license in Oregon?
The Oregon Esthetician license renews every 2 years for $65, through the Oregon Health Licensing Office. When it expires: On the last day of the month two years from the date of issuance. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
What happens if my Oregon esthetician license expires?
A certificate not renewed by its inactive date turns inactive and can be renewed for up to three years, paying the renewal fee plus a $50 delinquency fee for each year in inactive status. A certificate inactive for three years or more requires passing both the practical and written examinations within two years of reapplying, reapplying for certification, and paying all application, examination and renewal fees.

Ready when you are

Renewed? Keep the chair booked

SalonAI plans the business side of an independent beauty career in Oregon: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Oregon Cosmetology License Renewal: Fees and CE Hours | SalonAI