South Carolina license renewal and continuing education

How to renew a cosmetology license in South Carolina

What it takes to renew a cosmetology, barber, nail technician or esthetician license in South Carolina: when each expires, the renewal fee, the continuing education it needs, and what to do if you renew late or the license has lapsed. Every answer comes from the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026.

South Carolina license renewal at a glance
LicenseContinuing educationFeeRenewsLate fee
Cosmetologist4 hours per renewal$52Every 2 years$152
BarberNot stated$125Not stated$25
Nail technician4 hours per renewal$52Every 2 years$152
Esthetician4 hours per renewal$52Every 2 years$152

Renew on the board's site Check your license status The board's own words

At $26 a year, renewing costs less than the $32.50 a year typical across the states; its continuing education works out to 2 hours a year of license.

Cosmetologist (Registered Cosmetologist)

South Carolina cosmetology license renewal

Renewed through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsLicenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes.
Renewal fee
$52 ($26 a year)
Continuing education
4 hours per renewalFour contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
Late renewal
$152A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.

Barber (Registered Barber)

South Carolina barber license renewal

Renewed through the South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners.

When it expires
Not statedA registered barber license expires on June 30, 2027, the current renewal deadline.
Renewal fee
$125
Continuing education
Not statedThe official pages we read do not say whether renewal needs continuing education; ask the South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners before you renew.
Late renewal
$25A renewal postmarked after June 30 is considered lapsed and practice is not allowed, and a $25 reinstatement fee is added to the renewal fee for each license.
If it has expired
See the ruleAn expired registered barber certificate may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee; if more than three years have elapsed, the person must pass an examination and pay the reinstatement fee.

Nail technician

South Carolina nail technician license renewal

Renewed through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsLicenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes.
Renewal fee
$52 ($26 a year)
Continuing education
4 hours per renewalFour contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
Late renewal
$152A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.

Esthetician

South Carolina esthetician license renewal

Renewed through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology.

When it expires
Every 2 yearsLicenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes.
Renewal fee
$52 ($26 a year)
Continuing education
4 hours per renewalFour contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
Late renewal
$152A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule.
If it has expired
See the ruleA license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.

Good to know

What else South Carolina says about renewing

  • The 2027-2029 renewal period opens December 1, 2026 and closes at 11:59 pm on March 10, 2027.
  • Continuing education courses for cosmetology renewal may be taken in person or online.
  • A license placed on inactive status cannot be used to practice during the inactive period.

Sources

What South Carolina's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology's own pages, rules and fee schedules, read on October 28, 2026. Fees and deadlines change: confirm with the board before you renew.

Cosmetologist: renewal period
“The holder of an individual license issued by the board biennially, on such date as may be designated by the board, shall renew his license and pay the renewal fee and furnish proof to the board that he has completed continuing education approved by the board.”
scstatehouse.gov
“License renewal for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians and instructors are every odd year ending on March 10th at 11:59 pm.”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewals will open December 1, 2026 and end at 11:59pm on March 10, 2027.”
llr.sc.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal fee
“Registered Cosmetologist$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Registered Cosmetologist, Estheticians, Nail Technicians is $52; Instructors is $82.”
llr.sc.gov
Cosmetologist: continuing education
“Licensees are required to obtain (4) hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active SC license and it is not your first time renewing the SC license.”
llr.sc.gov
“All persons licensed in South Carolina as cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must show satisfactory evidence of four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control”
llr.sc.gov
“to include sanitation and disinfection during the licensing period. CE hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.”
llr.sc.gov
“No, if this is your first time renewing your license; either by examination or by endorsement, you will not be required to take a CE course for this renewal cycle.”
llr.sc.gov
Cosmetologist: late renewal
“Registered Cosmetologist$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewal applications received or postmarked after March 10, 2027 will not be accepted and reinstatement of the license will be required.”
llr.sc.gov
“Licenses not renewed by March 11, 2027, will be switched to lapsed status.”
llr.sc.gov
Cosmetologist: expired license
“The holder of an expired license may have the license restored within three years of the date of the expiration upon payment of the required renewal fee and satisfactory proof of his or her qualifications to resume practicing.”
scstatehouse.gov
“If a license has been expired for more than three years, the board shall conduct reexamination of the applicant before issuing a new license.”
scstatehouse.gov
“(C) Expired License. Any license expired for three (3) years or less may be reinstated if the applicant”
scstatehouse.gov
“After three (3) years, the license is no longer renewable by payment of fees.”
scstatehouse.gov
“practical examinations must be re-taken and passed.”
scstatehouse.gov
Barber: renewal period
“Registered Barber June 30, 2025 June 30, 2027”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewal must be postmarked by June 30, 2025, or it is considered lapsed and practice is not allowed.”
llr.sc.gov
Barber: renewal fee
“Registered Barber - $125”
llr.sc.gov
Barber: late renewal
“Applications postmarked July 1, 2025, or after must include the renewal fee + $25 reinstatement fee for each license.”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewal must be postmarked by June 30, 2025, or it is considered lapsed and practice is not allowed.”
llr.sc.gov
Barber: expired license
“A registered barber who does not engage in the practice of barbering for three years or less may renew the certificate of registration upon payment of a reinstatement fee.”
scstatehouse.gov
“If more than three years have elapsed, the person must pass an examination and pay the reinstatement fee.”
scstatehouse.gov
“You have 3 years to reinstate the license before you have to pass the examination again.”
llr.sc.gov
Nail technician: renewal period
“The holder of an individual license issued by the board biennially, on such date as may be designated by the board, shall renew his license and pay the renewal fee and furnish proof to the board that he has completed continuing education approved by the board.”
scstatehouse.gov
“License renewal for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians and instructors are every odd year ending on March 10th at 11:59 pm.”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewals will open December 1, 2026 and end at 11:59pm on March 10, 2027.”
llr.sc.gov
Nail technician: renewal fee
“Nail Technician$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Registered Cosmetologist, Estheticians, Nail Technicians is $52; Instructors is $82.”
llr.sc.gov
Nail technician: continuing education
“Licensees are required to obtain (4) hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active SC license and it is not your first time renewing the SC license.”
llr.sc.gov
“All persons licensed in South Carolina as cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must show satisfactory evidence of four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control”
llr.sc.gov
“to include sanitation and disinfection during the licensing period. CE hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.”
llr.sc.gov
“No, if this is your first time renewing your license; either by examination or by endorsement, you will not be required to take a CE course for this renewal cycle.”
llr.sc.gov
Nail technician: late renewal
“Nail Technician$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewal applications received or postmarked after March 10, 2027 will not be accepted and reinstatement of the license will be required.”
llr.sc.gov
“Licenses not renewed by March 11, 2027, will be switched to lapsed status.”
llr.sc.gov
Nail technician: expired license
“The holder of an expired license may have the license restored within three years of the date of the expiration upon payment of the required renewal fee and satisfactory proof of his or her qualifications to resume practicing.”
scstatehouse.gov
“If a license has been expired for more than three years, the board shall conduct reexamination of the applicant before issuing a new license.”
scstatehouse.gov
“(C) Expired License. Any license expired for three (3) years or less may be reinstated if the applicant”
scstatehouse.gov
“After three (3) years, the license is no longer renewable by payment of fees.”
scstatehouse.gov
“practical examinations must be re-taken and passed.”
scstatehouse.gov
Esthetician: renewal period
“The holder of an individual license issued by the board biennially, on such date as may be designated by the board, shall renew his license and pay the renewal fee and furnish proof to the board that he has completed continuing education approved by the board.”
scstatehouse.gov
“License renewal for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians and instructors are every odd year ending on March 10th at 11:59 pm.”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewals will open December 1, 2026 and end at 11:59pm on March 10, 2027.”
llr.sc.gov
Esthetician: renewal fee
“Esthetician$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Registered Cosmetologist, Estheticians, Nail Technicians is $52; Instructors is $82.”
llr.sc.gov
Esthetician: continuing education
“Licensees are required to obtain (4) hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active SC license and it is not your first time renewing the SC license.”
llr.sc.gov
“All persons licensed in South Carolina as cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must show satisfactory evidence of four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control”
llr.sc.gov
“to include sanitation and disinfection during the licensing period. CE hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.”
llr.sc.gov
“No, if this is your first time renewing your license; either by examination or by endorsement, you will not be required to take a CE course for this renewal cycle.”
llr.sc.gov
Esthetician: late renewal
“Esthetician$45$60$52$152”
llr.sc.gov
“Renewal applications received or postmarked after March 10, 2027 will not be accepted and reinstatement of the license will be required.”
llr.sc.gov
“Licenses not renewed by March 11, 2027, will be switched to lapsed status.”
llr.sc.gov
Esthetician: expired license
“The holder of an expired license may have the license restored within three years of the date of the expiration upon payment of the required renewal fee and satisfactory proof of his or her qualifications to resume practicing.”
scstatehouse.gov
“If a license has been expired for more than three years, the board shall conduct reexamination of the applicant before issuing a new license.”
scstatehouse.gov
“(C) Expired License. Any license expired for three (3) years or less may be reinstated if the applicant”
scstatehouse.gov
“After three (3) years, the license is no longer renewable by payment of fees.”
scstatehouse.gov
“practical examinations must be re-taken and passed.”
scstatehouse.gov
Also good to know
“Renewals will open December 1, 2026 and end at 11:59pm on March 10, 2027.”
llr.sc.gov
Also good to know
“CE courses are offered both in-person and online.”
llr.sc.gov
Also good to know
“The licensee may not receive any license or other authorization to practice during the inactive period.”
scstatehouse.gov

Questions

South Carolina license renewal, answered

How do I renew my cosmetology license in South Carolina?
The South Carolina Registered Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $52, through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology. When it expires: Licenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes. Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Carolina cosmetology license?
Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
What happens if my South Carolina cosmetology license expires?
A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule. A license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.
How do I renew my barber license in South Carolina?
The South Carolina Registered Barber license renews for $125, through the South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners. When it expires: A registered barber license expires on June 30, 2027, the current renewal deadline. The official pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement for it; ask the South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners before your renewal date. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
What happens if my South Carolina barber license expires?
A renewal postmarked after June 30 is considered lapsed and practice is not allowed, and a $25 reinstatement fee is added to the renewal fee for each license. An expired registered barber certificate may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee; if more than three years have elapsed, the person must pass an examination and pay the reinstatement fee.
How do I renew my nail technician license in South Carolina?
The South Carolina Nail Technician license renews every 2 years for $52, through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology. When it expires: Licenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes. Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Carolina nail technician license?
Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
What happens if my South Carolina nail technician license expires?
A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule. A license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.
How do I renew my esthetician license in South Carolina?
The South Carolina Esthetician license renews every 2 years for $52, through the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology. When it expires: Licenses expire at 11:59 pm on March 10 of odd-numbered years, when the renewal period closes. Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt. Renew on the board's own site, linked on this page.
How many continuing education hours do I need to renew a South Carolina esthetician license?
Continuing education (4 hours per renewal): Four contact hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, on board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control including sanitation and disinfection; in-person or online courses count, and a first renewal by examination or endorsement is exempt.
What happens if my South Carolina esthetician license expires?
A renewal postmarked after March 10 is not accepted, and a license not renewed by March 11 is switched to lapsed status and must be reinstated for the $152 reinstatement fee on the board's fee schedule. A license expired for three years or less may be reinstated on payment of the reinstatement fee and proof of completed continuing education; after three years it is no longer renewable, and the theory and practical examinations must be retaken and passed.

Ready when you are

Renewed? Keep the chair booked

SalonAI plans the business side of an independent beauty career in South Carolina: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

South Carolina Cosmetology License Renewal: Fees and CE Hours | SalonAI