Alabama makeup artist rules
Do you need a license to do makeup in Alabama?
Yes. Applying makeup to clients for pay in Alabama requires an esthetician license. Below: weddings, events and house calls (allowed), makeup for theater, film, television or photo shoots (not stated) and applying makeup to demonstrate or sell cosmetics (no license needed), each answered from Alabama's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 30, 2026, with the state's own words.
- Makeup for pay
- Full license
- Weddings and house calls
- Allowed
- Theater and film
- Not stated
- Cosmetics counter
- No license needed
Licensed by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words
Makeup for pay
Do you need a license to do makeup in Alabama?
Yes. Applying makeup to clients for pay in Alabama requires an esthetician license.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Esthetician
- Shorter makeup license
- None
Alabama is one of 33 states whose official pages put applying makeup for pay under a license.
Weddings, events and house calls
Can a makeup artist work at weddings or in clients' homes in Alabama?
Yes, on conditions. Licensed services may be done outside a licensed salon only when the client is ill or incapacitated, the licensee works for a licensed shop, and the appointment is made through that shop.
- Work outside a salon
- Allowed
- Conditions
- Only when the client is ill or incapacitated, the licensee works for a licensed shop, and the appointment is made through that licensed shop.
- Separate permit
- None named
Theater, film, TV and photo shoots
Do you need a license to do makeup for theater, film, TV or photo shoots in Alabama?
Not stated. Alabama's official pages we read do not say whether makeup for theater, film, television or photo shoots needs a license. Ask the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you charge for it.
- License needed
- Not stated
Cosmetics counters
Do you need a license to apply makeup at a cosmetics counter in Alabama?
No license needed. Demonstrating and selling cosmetics in a retail department needs no license, as long as no other cosmetology or barbering services are performed there.
- License needed
- No license needed
- Exemption
- Departments in retail stores where cosmetics are demonstrated and sold need no license, if no other cosmetology or barbering services are performed.
Alabama is one of 34 states whose official pages exempt applying makeup to demonstrate or sell cosmetics from licensing.
Good to know
What else Alabama asks of makeup artists
- A mobile salon must be licensed by the Board, and no services may be performed outside it or while it is moving.
- Esthetician applicants must complete at least 1,000 clock hours of skin care instruction in a licensed or registered school.
- Applicants for any Board license must be at least 16 years old and have completed at least 10 grades or the equivalent.
Sources
What Alabama's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Alabama's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 30, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you start charging for makeup or booking work on location.
- Makeup for pay
“ESTHETICS. The practice of performing acts of skin care including, but not limited to, facials, body waxing, makeup, and general esthetics procedures”
aboc.alabama.gov “Before a person may engage in the practices regulated by this chapter, the”
aboc.alabama.gov “(8) ESTHETICIAN. Any person, other than a student or apprentice, who performs esthetics on the general public for compensation, and who shall satisfy”
aboc.alabama.gov - Weddings, events and house calls
“(13) No licensee shall perform any service authorized by a license issued by the Board in a facility not licensed by the Board, except”
aboc.alabama.gov “(a) when necessary due to the illness or other physical or mental incapacitation of the recipient of the service, and”
aboc.alabama.gov “(b) when performed by a licensee in the employment of a licensed shop, and”
aboc.alabama.gov “(c) when appointments are made through a licensed shop for the service.”
aboc.alabama.gov - Cosmetics counters
“(6) Departments in retail establishments where cosmetics are demonstrated and offered for sale but where no other acts of cosmetology or barbering are”
aboc.alabama.gov - Also good to know
“(6) No services may be performed outside the mobile salon or while it is in motion.”
aboc.alabama.gov - Also good to know
“(3) Has successfully completed at least 1,000 clock hours of skin care instruction in a licensed or registered school of esthetics or school of cosmetology”
aboc.alabama.gov - Also good to know
“To obtain a license in any discipline from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, you must be at least 16 years old, have completed at least 10 grades in secondary school (or the equivalent)”
aboc.alabama.gov
Questions
Alabama makeup artist licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do makeup in Alabama?
Can a makeup artist work at weddings or in clients' homes in Alabama?
Is theater, film or photo-shoot makeup exempt in Alabama?
Can you apply makeup at a cosmetics counter in Alabama without a license?
What do you need to open a makeup studio in Alabama?
Plan the rest
Ready to fill your calendar
- Hours, exams and fees for each Alabama cosmetology and esthetician license
- What a Alabama esthetician may and may not do
- Lash extensions, brow tinting and waxing rules in Alabama
- Permanent makeup and microblading rules in Alabama
- What Alabama requires to open a salon or studio of your own
- A deposit and cancellation policy for bridal bookings
Makeup artist rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed and booked? Fill the calendar next
SalonAI plans the business side of a makeup artistry practice in Alabama: a website with your portfolio and packages where clients check your date and book, deposits, trials and travel fees for weddings, inquiries answered fast, your Google profile and Instagram, and reviews. Founden builds and runs it while you work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.