All 50 states and DC, from each state's own rules

Do you need a license to braid hair? Every state's rules

35 states let you braid natural hair with no license, 16 states ask for a braiding-only license or registration, and none still requires a full cosmetology license just to braid. Pick your state for braiding, locs, sew-ins and extensions, and wig installs, each answered from the state's own statutes, rules or board pages.

Read from the official sources on October 29, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)

States where braiding needs no license
35 of 51
States with a braiding-only license
16
Training for a braiding-only license
6 to 500 hours

Across the states

What the rules have in common

  • Most states let natural hair braiders work without a license. 35 states exempt natural hair braiding on their official pages, usually on conditions such as no cutting, no chemicals and no dyes.
  • 16 states have a middle path. Alaska, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina and Tennessee ask for a braiding-only license or registration, with 6 to 500 hours of training where the state sets them, instead of the 1,000 or more a cosmetology license takes. No state still requires a full cosmetology license just to braid.
  • Some exempt states keep an optional license. Alabama, Arkansas and Michigan let braiders work without a license but offer a natural hair license or certificate for those who want one.
  • Locs usually follow the braiding rule. In 25 states the official pages exempt starting and maintaining locs, in 13 states they need the braiding or a full license; 13 states do not name locs, so ask the board.
  • Extensions are licensed work more often than braids. 26 states name hair weaving or extensions as licensed work, 11 states exempt them, and 14 states do not say. Where braiding is exempt, extensions attached with glue, tape or bonds usually are not.
  • Wig installs are the least settled. 30 states do not address installing wigs on a client on the official pages we read; 18 states treat wig work as licensed and 3 states exempt it.

Every state compared

Braiding, locs, extensions and wig rules, state by state

"Braiding license" is a license or registration for braiding alone, usually a short course; "full license" means a cosmetology, barbering or similar license. "Not stated" means the state's official pages we read did not settle it; it is not a yes or a no.

Hair braiding, locs, extensions and wig install license rules by state
StateBraidingLocsExtensionsWig installsBraiding-only license
AlabamaNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNatural Hair Stylist, 210 h
AlaskaBraiding licenseNot statedLicense neededNot statedHair Braiding License, 35 h
ArizonaNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
ArkansasNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNatural Hair Braiding Certificate, 80 h
CaliforniaNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
ColoradoNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNot statedNone
ConnecticutNo license neededNot statedLicense neededNot statedNone
DelawareNo license neededNot statedNot statedNot statedNone
District of ColumbiaBraiding licenseNot statedLicense neededLicense neededBraiders, 100 h
FloridaNo license neededNot statedNot statedNot statedNone
GeorgiaNo license neededNot statedNo license neededNot statedNone
HawaiiBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedNatural Hair Braider registration
IdahoNo license neededNo license neededNot statedLicense neededNone
IllinoisBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedHair Braider, 300 h
IndianaNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNo license neededNone
IowaBraiding licenseLicense neededNot statedNo license neededNatural Hair Braiding Registry
KansasNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
KentuckyNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNot statedNone
LouisianaBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedAlternative Hair Design special permit, 500 h
MaineNo license neededNot statedNot statedLicense neededNone
MarylandNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
MassachusettsNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
MichiganNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNatural Hair Culturist, 400 h
MinnesotaNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNo license neededNone
MississippiBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedHair Braiding Registration
MissouriBraiding licenseLicense neededNot statedNot statedCertificate of Registration for Hair Braiding
MontanaNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
NebraskaNo license neededNo license neededNot statedLicense neededNone
NevadaBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededLicense neededHair Braider
New HampshireNo license neededNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNone
New JerseyBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededLicense neededHair Braiding Specialist, 50 h
New MexicoNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededLicense neededNone
New YorkBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedNatural Hair Styling, 300 h
North CarolinaBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedNatural Hair Care Specialist, 300 h
North DakotaNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNot statedNone
OhioBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededLicense neededBoutique Services Registration
OklahomaNo license neededNo license neededNot statedLicense neededNone
OregonBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedNatural Hair Care certification
PennsylvaniaNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededLicense neededNone
Rhode IslandNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededNot statedNone
South CarolinaBraiding licenseNot statedLicense neededLicense neededHair Braider registration, 6 h
South DakotaNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededLicense neededNone
TennesseeBraiding licenseLicense neededLicense neededNot statedRegistered Hair Braider, 16 h
TexasNo license neededNot statedLicense neededNot statedNone
UtahNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededLicense neededNone
VermontNo license neededNot statedNot statedNot statedNone
VirginiaNo license neededNot statedNot statedLicense neededNone
WashingtonNo license neededNot statedNot statedNot statedNone
West VirginiaNo license neededNot statedLicense neededLicense neededNone
WisconsinNo license neededNo license neededNot statedNot statedNone
WyomingNo license neededNo license neededLicense neededLicense neededNone

Method

How we checked each state

  • Official sources only. For each state we read its cosmetology and barbering practice acts and rules (the definitions of each licensed practice and the list of exemptions), its board's pages and any license or registration made for braiding or natural hair. Braiding schools, advocacy groups and other guides were not used as sources.
  • Every answer carries the state's own words. Each answer is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page before the page was published. Each state's page shows those quotes.
  • "Not stated" is honest. Where the pages we read do not name a service (locs and wig installs most often), the state reads "Not stated" rather than a guess, even where a general definition such as "arranging the hair" might reach it. Ask the board.
  • Rules change. Several states have dropped or added braiding rules in recent years. These are the states' own rules as published on October 29, 2026. Confirm with your board before you start charging for a service.

Questions

Hair braiding licenses, answered

Do you need a license to braid hair?
It depends on the state. 35 states exempt natural hair braiding, 16 states have a braiding-only license or registration, and none still requires a full cosmetology license just to braid. Pick your state above for its own words.
Which states require a hair braiding license?
Alaska, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina and Tennessee have a license or registration for braiding alone, on the official pages we read.
Do you need a license to do locs?
In 25 states starting and maintaining locs is exempt on the official pages, in 13 states it needs a license, and 13 states do not name locs. Each state's page shows its own words.
Do you need a license to do sew-ins or hair extensions?
In 26 states the official pages name hair weaving or extensions as licensed work. Some states that exempt braiding still license extensions applied with glue, tape or bonds, so check your state's page.
Do you need a license to install wigs?
Most official pages do not address it: 30 states are silent, 18 states treat wig work on a client as licensed and 3 states exempt it. Ask your board before you charge for installs.
Where do these answers come from?
From each state's own statutes, administrative rules and board pages, read on October 29, 2026, never from braiding schools, advocacy groups or other guides. Each answer carries the official page and the state's own words, and a script confirmed each quote is on that page. Rules change: confirm with your state board before you start.

Ready when you are

Braiding legally? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.