Tennessee hair braiding rules
Do you need a license to braid hair in Tennessee?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Registered Hair Braider registration (16 hours of health and hygiene training, then a $30 biennial registration) or a Natural Hair Stylist license. The Registered Hair Braider license takes 16 hours of training. Below: locs (license needed), hair extensions and sew-ins (license needed) and wig installs (not stated), each answered from Tennessee's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.
- Braiding
- Braiding license
- Locs
- License needed
- Extensions
- License needed
- Wig installs
- Not stated
Licensed by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words
Hair braiding
Do you need a license to braid hair in Tennessee?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Registered Hair Braider registration (16 hours of health and hygiene training, then a $30 biennial registration) or a Natural Hair Stylist license. The Registered Hair Braider license takes 16 hours of training.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Hair Braider, Natural Hair Stylist
- License for this work alone
- Registered Hair Braider, 16 hours of training
- Exemption
- Hair braiders are exempt from Title 62, Chapter 4 if they meet the general requirements listed by the board.
Tennessee is one of 16 states that ask for a license or registration for hair braiding alone rather than a full license.
Locs
Do you need a license to do locs in Tennessee?
Yes. Starting and maintaining locs is named in the hair braiding definition, so it needs a Registered Hair Braider registration or a Natural Hair Stylist license. The Registered Hair Braider license takes 16 hours of training.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Hair Braider, Natural Hair Stylist
- License for this work alone
- Registered Hair Braider, 16 hours of training
- Exemption
- Locking done as hair braiding is covered by the Registered Hair Braider exemption when no cutting, coloring, relaxing or chemical treatment is used.
Tennessee is one of 13 states that ask for a license or registration for starting and maintaining locs alone rather than a full license.
Hair extensions and sew-ins
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Tennessee?
Yes. Weaves and extensions are named in the hair braiding definition and the Natural Hair Stylist license, so they need a Registered Hair Braider registration or a Natural Hair Stylist license. The Registered Hair Braider license takes 16 hours of training.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Hair Braider, Natural Hair Stylist
- License for this work alone
- Registered Hair Braider, 16 hours of training
- Exemption
- Weaving and extending done as hair braiding are covered by the Registered Hair Braider exemption when no cutting, coloring, relaxing or chemical treatment is used.
Tennessee is one of 13 states that ask for a license or registration for hair extensions and sew-ins alone rather than a full license.
Wig installs
Do you need a license to install wigs in Tennessee?
Not stated. Tennessee's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you offer it.
- License needed
- Not stated
Good to know
What else Tennessee asks of braiders
- Hair braider registration must be renewed every two years for a $30 fee through CORE.
- Registered hair braiders must use only disposable or properly sanitized instruments.
- A registered hair braider must post a notice that they are not licensed and may not call themselves a licensed natural hair stylist.
- A shop that only does hair braiding needs no license, but a shop that employs a licensed natural hair stylist or cosmetologist must be licensed.
Sources
What Tennessee's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Tennessee's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you start charging for a service.
- Hair braiding
“No, but you do need a registration.”
support.commerce.tn.gov “means techniques that result in tension on hair strands, such as twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending, locking, or braiding of the hair, by hand or mechanical appliances for compensation”
tn.gov “techniques which result in tension on hair strands, such as twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending, locking, or braiding of the hair by hand or mechanical appliances”
tn.gov “Attend sixteen (16) hours of training in health and hygiene, either in person or online”
tn.gov “Effective July 1, 2019, hair braiders are exempt from Title 62, Chapter 4 provided that the following general requirements are met:”
support.commerce.tn.gov - Locs
“means techniques that result in tension on hair strands, such as twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending, locking, or braiding of the hair, by hand or mechanical appliances for compensation”
tn.gov “techniques which result in tension on hair strands, such as twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending, locking, or braiding of the hair by hand or mechanical appliances”
tn.gov “Attend sixteen (16) hours of training in health and hygiene, either in person or online”
tn.gov “Effective July 1, 2019, hair braiders are exempt from Title 62, Chapter 4 provided that the following general requirements are met:”
support.commerce.tn.gov “without cutting, coloring, relaxing, removing, chemically treating, or using other preparations to straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair”
tn.gov - Hair extensions and sew-ins
“or extension with natural or synthetic fibers”
tn.gov “means techniques that result in tension on hair strands, such as twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending, locking, or braiding of the hair, by hand or mechanical appliances for compensation”
tn.gov “Attend sixteen (16) hours of training in health and hygiene, either in person or online”
tn.gov “Effective July 1, 2019, hair braiders are exempt from Title 62, Chapter 4 provided that the following general requirements are met:”
support.commerce.tn.gov “without cutting, coloring, relaxing, removing, chemically treating, or using other preparations to straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair”
tn.gov - Also good to know
“Register biennially and pay a $30.00 registration fee”
support.commerce.tn.gov - Also good to know
“Use only disposable or properly sanitized instruments”
support.commerce.tn.gov - Also good to know
“Post a notice that the hair braider is not licensed.”
support.commerce.tn.gov - Also good to know
“However if this shop hires any person that is a Licensed Natural Hairstylist or Cosmetologist, then that shop will have to be licensed as a Natural Hairstylist Shop or Cosmetology Shop.”
support.commerce.tn.gov
Questions
Tennessee hair braiding licenses, answered
Do you need a license to braid hair in Tennessee?
Do you need a license to do locs in Tennessee?
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Tennessee?
Do you need a license to install wigs in Tennessee?
What do you need to open a braiding salon in Tennessee?
Plan the rest
Ready to fill your book
- Hours, exams and fees for each Tennessee cosmetology and barber license
- What Tennessee requires to open a salon or shop of your own
- What Tennessee inspectors check in a salon
- Renewing a Tennessee cosmetology or barber license
- Renting a chair or a suite? Start from a booth rental agreement
- A deposit and cancellation policy for long appointments
Hair braiding rules in other states
Ready when you are
Braiding legally? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in Tennessee: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.