Alabama hair braiding rules

Do you need a license to braid hair in Alabama?

No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, braiding alone needs no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available. Below: locs (no license needed), hair extensions and sew-ins (no license needed) and wig installs (not stated), each answered from Alabama's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.

Braiding
No license needed
Locs
No license needed
Extensions
No license needed
Wig installs
Not stated

Licensed by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Hair braiding

Do you need a license to braid hair in Alabama?

No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, braiding alone needs no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available.

License needed
No license needed
Licenses that allow it
Natural Hair Stylist
Optional license for this work
Natural Hair Stylist, 210 hours of training, $50
Exemption
Natural hair styling needs no Board license for someone who performs only that work, with no cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing or chemical treatments.

Alabama is one of 35 states whose official pages exempt hair braiding from licensing.

Locs

Do you need a license to do locs in Alabama?

No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, starting and maintaining locs needs no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available.

License needed
No license needed
Licenses that allow it
Natural Hair Stylist
Optional license for this work
Natural Hair Stylist, 210 hours of training, $50
Exemption
Natural hair styling needs no Board license for someone who performs only that work, with no cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing or chemical treatments.

Alabama is one of 25 states whose official pages exempt starting and maintaining locs from licensing.

Hair extensions and sew-ins

Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Alabama?

No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, weaves and extensions need no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available.

License needed
No license needed
Licenses that allow it
Natural Hair Stylist
Optional license for this work
Natural Hair Stylist, 210 hours of training, $50
Exemption
Natural hair styling needs no Board license for someone who performs only that work, with no cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing or chemical treatments.

Alabama is one of 11 states whose official pages exempt hair extensions and sew-ins from licensing.

Wig installs

Do you need a license to install wigs in Alabama?

Not stated. Alabama's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer it.

License needed
Not stated

Good to know

What else Alabama asks of braiders

  • Businesses that provide only natural hair styling services do not need a Board-issued shop license and are not subject to inspection by the Board.
  • Those who choose the voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license stay under the Board's regulatory authority.
  • Natural Hair Stylist personal licenses renew in odd-numbered years during the holder's birth month.

Sources

What Alabama's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Alabama's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you start charging for a service.

Hair braiding
“exempts Natural Hair Styling services from regulation by the Board, effective October 1, 2026.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Natural Hair Stylists perform cleansing, weaving, or interweaving, extending, locking, braiding, or arranging the hair without cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing, or chemical treatments.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“210 school clock hours/420 apprentice clock hours”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
“individuals who perform only natural hair styling services will no longer be required to hold a license issued by the Board”
aboc.alabama.gov
Locs
“exempts Natural Hair Styling services from regulation by the Board, effective October 1, 2026.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Natural Hair Stylists perform cleansing, weaving, or interweaving, extending, locking, braiding, or arranging the hair without cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing, or chemical treatments.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“210 school clock hours/420 apprentice clock hours”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
“individuals who perform only natural hair styling services will no longer be required to hold a license issued by the Board”
aboc.alabama.gov
Hair extensions and sew-ins
“exempts Natural Hair Styling services from regulation by the Board, effective October 1, 2026.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Natural Hair Stylists perform cleansing, weaving, or interweaving, extending, locking, braiding, or arranging the hair without cutting, coloring, permanent waving, relaxing, removing, or chemical treatments.”
aboc.alabama.gov
“210 school clock hours/420 apprentice clock hours”
aboc.alabama.gov
“Original License: $50”
aboc.alabama.gov
“individuals who perform only natural hair styling services will no longer be required to hold a license issued by the Board”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“Businesses that provide only natural hair styling services do not need a Board-issued shop license and are not subject to inspection by the Board.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“Once licensed, these individuals remain under the regulatory authority of the Board.”
aboc.alabama.gov
Also good to know
“For Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Manicurists, Eyebrow Threaders, Estheticians/Manicurists, Manicure/Waxers and Natural Hair Stylists, personal licenses are renewed in odd-numbered years during your birth month.”
aboc.alabama.gov

Questions

Alabama hair braiding licenses, answered

Do you need a license to braid hair in Alabama?
No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, braiding alone needs no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available. Hours and fees for each full license are on the Alabama cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do locs in Alabama?
No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, starting and maintaining locs needs no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available. Hours and fees for each full license are on the Alabama cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Alabama?
No license needed. Since October 1, 2026, weaves and extensions need no Board license if no cutting or chemical treatments are involved; a voluntary Natural Hair Stylist license is available. Hours and fees for each full license are on the Alabama cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to install wigs in Alabama?
Not stated. Alabama's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer it.
What do you need to open a braiding salon in Alabama?
The license your own work needs (above), and usually a license for the shop itself as a business, unless Alabama exempts braiding entirely. See what Alabama requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Braiding legally? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in Alabama: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.