District of Columbia hair braiding rules

Do you need a license to braid hair in District of Columbia?

Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding for a fee needs a cosmetology license, or a Braiders license after 100 hours of training. The Braiders license takes 100 hours of training and $175 in state fees. Below: locs (not stated), hair extensions and sew-ins (license needed) and wig installs (license needed), each answered from District of Columbia's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.

Braiding
Braiding license
Locs
Not stated
Extensions
License needed
Wig installs
License needed

Licensed by the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Hair braiding

Do you need a license to braid hair in District of Columbia?

Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding for a fee needs a cosmetology license, or a Braiders license after 100 hours of training. The Braiders license takes 100 hours of training and $175 in state fees.

License needed
License needed
Licenses that allow it
Cosmetologist, Braiders
License for this work alone
Braiders, 100 hours of training, $175

District of Columbia is one of 16 states that ask for a license or registration for hair braiding alone rather than a full license.

Locs

Do you need a license to do locs in District of Columbia?

Not stated. District of Columbia's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology before you offer them.

License needed
Not stated

Hair extensions and sew-ins

Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in District of Columbia?

Yes. Weaves and sew-ins need a Cosmetologist license, since weaving is named in the cosmetology definition.

License needed
License needed
Licenses that allow it
Cosmetologist
License for this work alone
None

Wig installs

Do you need a license to install wigs in District of Columbia?

Yes. Installing wigs for a fee falls under the cosmetology license, since wigs and hairpieces are named in the cosmetology definition.

License needed
License needed
Licenses that allow it
Cosmetologist
License for this work alone
None

Good to know

What else District of Columbia asks of braiders

  • Braiders do not take the practical exam; all other license types do.
  • A braiding-only salon can be licensed as a Beauty Shop (Braiding) business.
  • A salon must pass a health inspection before it can open.
  • Cosmetology and specialty licenses, which include braiders, expire on April 15 of even-numbered years.

Sources

What District of Columbia's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of District of Columbia's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology before you start charging for a service.

Hair braiding
“bleaching, braiding, coloring, curling, cutting, dressing, eyebrow arching, the use of devices or chemicals to straighten, curl, or wave hair, shampooing, singeing, styling, weaving, or similar work performed upon the face, hair, hairpiece, or wig of a person”
code.dccouncil.gov
““practice of cosmetology” means providing or offering to the general public for a fee any of the following services solely for cosmetic purposes: bleaching, braiding, coloring”
code.dccouncil.gov
“Braiders – 100 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Initial Application by Exam for All License Types - $175”
dlcp.dc.gov
“words describing any cosmetology specialty (“manicurist,” “braider,” etc.) that may be defined by the Board”
code.dccouncil.gov
Hair extensions and sew-ins
“bleaching, braiding, coloring, curling, cutting, dressing, eyebrow arching, the use of devices or chemicals to straighten, curl, or wave hair, shampooing, singeing, styling, weaving, or similar work performed upon the face, hair, hairpiece, or wig of a person”
code.dccouncil.gov
““practice of cosmetology” means providing or offering to the general public for a fee any of the following services solely for cosmetic purposes: bleaching, braiding, coloring”
code.dccouncil.gov
Wig installs
“bleaching, braiding, coloring, curling, cutting, dressing, eyebrow arching, the use of devices or chemicals to straighten, curl, or wave hair, shampooing, singeing, styling, weaving, or similar work performed upon the face, hair, hairpiece, or wig of a person”
code.dccouncil.gov
““practice of cosmetology” means providing or offering to the general public for a fee any of the following services solely for cosmetic purposes: bleaching, braiding, coloring”
code.dccouncil.gov
Also good to know
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Also good to know
“Beauty Shop (Braiding)”
dlcp.dc.gov
Also good to know
“Before you can open and operate a cosmetology salon, barber shop, swimming pool, or other related facility, you must receive a passing Health Inspection”
dchealth.dc.gov
Also good to know
“All cosmetology and specialty licenses expire on April 15th of even-numbered years, regardless of when they were issued.”
dlcp.dc.gov

Questions

District of Columbia hair braiding licenses, answered

Do you need a license to braid hair in District of Columbia?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding for a fee needs a cosmetology license, or a Braiders license after 100 hours of training. The Braiders license takes 100 hours of training and $175 in state fees. Hours and fees for each full license are on the District of Columbia cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do locs in District of Columbia?
Not stated. District of Columbia's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology before you offer them.
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in District of Columbia?
Yes. Weaves and sew-ins need a Cosmetologist license, since weaving is named in the cosmetology definition. Hours and fees for each full license are on the District of Columbia cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to install wigs in District of Columbia?
Yes. Installing wigs for a fee falls under the cosmetology license, since wigs and hairpieces are named in the cosmetology definition. Hours and fees for each full license are on the District of Columbia cosmetology license page.
What do you need to open a braiding salon in District of Columbia?
The license your own work needs (above), and usually a license for the shop itself as a business, unless District of Columbia exempts braiding entirely. See what District of Columbia requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Braiding legally? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in District of Columbia: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.