South Carolina hair braiding rules

Do you need a license to braid hair in South Carolina?

Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Hair Braider registration from the Board of Barber Examiners, or a barber or cosmetology license. The Hair Braider registration takes 6 hours of training and $25 in state fees. Below: locs (not stated), hair extensions and sew-ins (license needed) and wig installs (license needed), each answered from South Carolina's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.

Braiding
Braiding license
Locs
Not stated
Extensions
License needed
Wig installs
License needed

Licensed by the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Hair braiding

Do you need a license to braid hair in South Carolina?

Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Hair Braider registration from the Board of Barber Examiners, or a barber or cosmetology license. The Hair Braider registration takes 6 hours of training and $25 in state fees.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Hair Braider registration, 6 hours of training, $25

South Carolina is one of 16 states that ask for a license or registration for hair braiding alone rather than a full license.

Locs

Do you need a license to do locs in South Carolina?

Not stated. South Carolina's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology before you offer them.

License needed
Not stated

Hair extensions and sew-ins

Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in South Carolina?

Yes. Sewing extensions into hair counts as hair braiding and needs a Hair Braider registration or a barber or cosmetology license, except when used in public places such as beaches, parks and sidewalks. The Hair Braider registration takes 6 hours of training and $25 in state fees.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Hair Braider registration, 6 hours of training, $25
Exemption
Hair extensions used in public places, including beaches, parks and sidewalks, are excluded from the hair braiding definition.

South Carolina is one of 13 states that ask for a license or registration for hair extensions and sew-ins alone rather than a full license.

Wig installs

Do you need a license to install wigs in South Carolina?

Yes. Fitting and styling wigs for pay is a barbering or cosmetology practice and needs a Registered Barber or Registered Cosmetologist license.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
None

Good to know

What else South Carolina asks of braiders

  • Braiding tools must be disposable or sanitized with a hospital-approved or EPA-approved commercial disinfectant.
  • The Hair Braider registration is valid for two years or until the end of the biennial renewal cycle in which it is first issued, whichever comes first, and must be renewed by paying the renewal fee.
  • After the training course, the applicant must pass the board's online exam with a score of 70%.

Sources

What South Carolina's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of South Carolina's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology before you start charging for a service.

Hair braiding
“Only those individuals who are licensed to practice barbering or cosmetology or who are registered to practice hair braiding in this State may engage in the practice of hair braiding or perform hair braiding services in this State.”
scstatehouse.gov
“The Board of Barber Examiners registers those individuals who are qualified by education and experience to perform hair braiding”
llr.sc.gov
“provide satisfactory proof of successful completion of a one-day, six-hour board-approved hair braiding course; (3) pass an examination administered by the board; and (4) pay a twenty-five dollar registration fee.”
llr.sc.gov
Hair extensions and sew-ins
“Hair braiding also includes the use of hair extensions, except when used in public places including, but not limited to, beaches, parks, and sidewalks.”
scstatehouse.gov
“Only those individuals who are licensed to practice barbering or cosmetology or who are registered to practice hair braiding in this State may engage in the practice of hair braiding or perform hair braiding services in this State.”
scstatehouse.gov
“provide satisfactory proof of successful completion of a one-day, six-hour board-approved hair braiding course; (3) pass an examination administered by the board; and (4) pay a twenty-five dollar registration fee.”
llr.sc.gov
Wig installs
“cutting, shaping, fitting, styling, and servicing hair pieces, toupees, and wigs”
scstatehouse.gov
“arranging, styling, thermal curling, chemical waving, pressing, shampooing, cutting, shaping, chemical bleaching, chemical coloring, chemical relaxing, or similar work, upon the hair, wig, or hairpiece of any person”
scstatehouse.gov
Also good to know
“All implements used in connection with hair braiding must be disposable or must be sanitized in a disinfectant approved for hospital use or approved by the Environmental Protection Agency for commercial use.”
scstatehouse.gov
Also good to know
“Registration to practice hair braiding is valid for two years or until the end of the biennial licensure renewal cycle in which the registration is first issued, whichever occurs first.”
scstatehouse.gov
Also good to know
“Upon completion of the training course, you must pass the online exam with a 70%.”
llr.sc.gov

Questions

South Carolina hair braiding licenses, answered

Do you need a license to braid hair in South Carolina?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Hair Braider registration from the Board of Barber Examiners, or a barber or cosmetology license. The Hair Braider registration takes 6 hours of training and $25 in state fees. Hours and fees for each full license are on the South Carolina cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do locs in South Carolina?
Not stated. South Carolina's official pages we read do not say whether starting and maintaining locs need a license. Ask the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology before you offer them.
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in South Carolina?
Yes. Sewing extensions into hair counts as hair braiding and needs a Hair Braider registration or a barber or cosmetology license, except when used in public places such as beaches, parks and sidewalks. The Hair Braider registration takes 6 hours of training and $25 in state fees. Hours and fees for each full license are on the South Carolina cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to install wigs in South Carolina?
Yes. Fitting and styling wigs for pay is a barbering or cosmetology practice and needs a Registered Barber or Registered Cosmetologist license. Hours and fees for each full license are on the South Carolina cosmetology license page.
What do you need to open a braiding salon in South Carolina?
The license your own work needs (above), and usually a license for the shop itself as a business, unless South Carolina exempts braiding entirely. See what South Carolina requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Braiding legally? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in South Carolina: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.