Illinois hair braiding rules
Do you need a license to braid hair in Illinois?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Hair Braider license or a cosmetology license. The Hair Braider license takes 300 hours of training and $30 in state fees. Below: locs (license needed), hair extensions and sew-ins (license needed) and wig installs (not stated), each answered from Illinois's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026, with the state's own words.
- Braiding
- Braiding license
- Locs
- License needed
- Extensions
- License needed
- Wig installs
- Not stated
Licensed by IDFPR.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words
Hair braiding
Do you need a license to braid hair in Illinois?
Yes, but not a full cosmetology license. Braiding needs a Hair Braider license or a cosmetology license. The Hair Braider license takes 300 hours of training and $30 in state fees.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Cosmetologist, Hair Braider
- License for this work alone
- Hair Braider, 300 hours of training, $30
Illinois is one of 16 states that ask for a license or registration for hair braiding alone rather than a full license.
Locs
Do you need a license to do locs in Illinois?
Yes. Locs need a Hair Braider license, since locking is listed as hair braiding. The Hair Braider license takes 300 hours of training and $30 in state fees.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Hair Braider
- License for this work alone
- Hair Braider, 300 hours of training, $30
Illinois is one of 13 states that ask for a license or registration for starting and maintaining locs alone rather than a full license.
Hair extensions and sew-ins
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Illinois?
Yes. Sewn-in weaves and hair extensions need a Hair Braider license, since sewing, extending and weaving are listed as hair braiding. The Hair Braider license takes 300 hours of training and $30 in state fees.
- License needed
- License needed
- Licenses that allow it
- Hair Braider
- License for this work alone
- Hair Braider, 300 hours of training, $30
Illinois is one of 13 states that ask for a license or registration for hair extensions and sew-ins alone rather than a full license.
Wig installs
Do you need a license to install wigs in Illinois?
Not stated. Illinois's official pages we read do not say whether installing wigs on a client needs a license. Ask IDFPR before you offer it.
- License needed
- Not stated
Good to know
What else Illinois asks of braiders
- A shop or salon offering hair braiding must hold a certificate of registration from the Department.
- A sole proprietor with no employees or contractors who is not operating a mobile shop or salon is outside the registration rule for locations not owned or rented.
- Every license expires on October 31 of each even-numbered year, and may be renewed during the month before that date.
- A license holder who serves clients away from the salon or shop must show proof of a valid license on request.
Sources
What Illinois's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Illinois's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 29, 2026. Rules change: confirm with IDFPR before you start charging for a service.
- Hair braiding
“arranging, braiding, dressing, cutting, trimming, curling, waving, chemical restructuring, shaping, singeing, bleaching, coloring, or similar work, upon the hair of the head or any cranial prosthesis”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “"Licensed cosmetologist" means an individual licensed by the Department to practice cosmetology, nail technology, hair braiding, and esthetics as defined in this Act”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “A person is qualified to receive a license as a hair braider if he or she has filed an application in writing or electronically on forms provided by the Department”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “of 300 clock hours or a 10 credit hour equivalency of instruction, as defined by rule, in a licensed cosmetology school teaching a hair braiding curriculum or in a licensed hair braiding school as follows:”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “License. The fee for a license is $30 and is to be submitted with the application.”
ilga.gov - Locs
“means a natural form of hair manipulation by braiding, cornrowing, extending, lacing, locking, sewing, twisting, weaving, or wrapping human hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers, and hair extensions.”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “A person is qualified to receive a license as a hair braider if he or she has filed an application in writing or electronically on forms provided by the Department”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “of 300 clock hours or a 10 credit hour equivalency of instruction, as defined by rule, in a licensed cosmetology school teaching a hair braiding curriculum or in a licensed hair braiding school as follows:”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “License. The fee for a license is $30 and is to be submitted with the application.”
ilga.gov - Hair extensions and sew-ins
“means a natural form of hair manipulation by braiding, cornrowing, extending, lacing, locking, sewing, twisting, weaving, or wrapping human hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers, and hair extensions.”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “Hair braiding does not include the cutting or growing of human hair, but may include the trimming of hair extensions or sewn weave-in extensions only as applicable to the braiding process.”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “A person is qualified to receive a license as a hair braider if he or she has filed an application in writing or electronically on forms provided by the Department”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “of 300 clock hours or a 10 credit hour equivalency of instruction, as defined by rule, in a licensed cosmetology school teaching a hair braiding curriculum or in a licensed hair braiding school as follows:”
witnessslips.ilga.gov “License. The fee for a license is $30 and is to be submitted with the application.”
ilga.gov - Also good to know
“shall own or operate a cosmetology, esthetics, hair braiding, or nail technology salon or barber shop”
witnessslips.ilga.gov - Also good to know
“Nothing in this subsection (g) shall apply to a sole proprietor who has no employees or contractors and is not operating a mobile shop or salon.”
witnessslips.ilga.gov - Also good to know
“Every license issued under the Act shall expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year.”
ilga.gov - Also good to know
“the license holder shall provide any person so requesting proof that the person has a valid license issued by the Department”
witnessslips.ilga.gov
Questions
Illinois hair braiding licenses, answered
Do you need a license to braid hair in Illinois?
Do you need a license to do locs in Illinois?
Do you need a license to do hair extensions or sew-ins in Illinois?
Do you need a license to install wigs in Illinois?
What do you need to open a braiding salon in Illinois?
Plan the rest
Ready to fill your book
- Hours, exams and fees for each Illinois cosmetology and barber license
- What Illinois requires to open a salon or shop of your own
- What Illinois inspectors check in a salon
- Renewing a Illinois cosmetology or barber license
- Renting a chair or a suite? Start from a booth rental agreement
- A deposit and cancellation policy for long appointments
Hair braiding rules in other states
Ready when you are
Braiding legally? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a braiding practice in Illinois: a website with your styles and prices that clients book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, prep reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you braid.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.